Sensai Cellular Performance Hydrachange Cream Review & Swatches

April 5, 2010
Thank you so much to all of you who’ve reached out to let me know that my daily posts have been missed – I love hearing from you amidst all the craziness of work, it really brightens my day.  So given all the stress I’ve been under (and the massive sleep-deprivation I’ve been experiencing) you’d think that my skin would be going haywire, but thanks to the soothing, hydrating gentleness that is Sensai’s new Hydrachange Cream, my skin hasn’t been betraying the chaos that happens to be my life.  Check out the full review after the jump!

The Science: Hydrachange Cream is an uber-gentle gel cream that imparts a refreshing moist sensation upon application.  Sensai’s unique Hyaluronic Acid Supporting Network evenly distributes Hydrachange Complex, (made up of a marine monosaccharide to improve firmness and smoothness, beta-carotene to promote hyaluronic acid synthesis and a hyaluronate to boost collagen) with water and emollient oils to clam the skin while sealing in moisture for constant hydration. 
The Good: My simultaneously super oily and super dry (and always super-irritated) skin loves loves LOVES Hydrachange Cream.  Over the nearly three months that I’ve been using this cream (never have I stuck with a single moisturizer this long) my pores have noticeably decreased in sizes, my skin is balanced and happy, and I’ve experienced nary a dry flake during the cold winter months.  This gel cream has a wonderfully light, almost watery texture that makes moisturizing such a pleasure in the morning (I hate struggling with a super thick cream) and is infused with the fresh, feminine, comforting fragrance of plum blossoms blended with notes of sandalwood, rose and jasmine (which are also supposed to boost hyaluronic acid synthesis in the dermis).  Have I also mentioned that I haven’t experienced a single major breakout since I started using this cream?  It’s heaven I tell you, pure heaven!
The Bad: I do have to say that there was one small hitch in the ABS/Hydrachange Cream love story – stickiness.  If there’s one thing I hate, it’s a sticky skincare product, and Hydrachange doesn’t dry to a completely matte finish, but rather remains slightly sticky to the touch throughout the day.  I do, however, think that this is why this particular product moisturizes so well and is so incredibly hydrating, so I really shouldn’t complain.  PLUS happily I’ve found that perfect skincare combination that makes for happy skin and a nice, smooth feel – I layer Hydrachange over my ever-trusty Estee Lauder Idealist (I’ve been using this stuff for years) and it settles into a nice and smooth, non-tacky finish that foundation just glides right over.
As promised, here are the ingredients!
The Verdict: While my wallet cringes (just a little) at the $160 for 1.4 oz. price, to be honest I’d pay pretty much any price for beautiful, happy skin, and so when sample jar (generously provided to me by the wonderful Sensai PR people) goes empty, I’ll be dragging myself over to the Kanebo counter at Bergdorf to restock. 
 
Availability:  Sensai’s Hydrachange Series is available at Bergdorf Goodman, BergdorfGoodman.com and NeimanMarcus.com (online only).  Do check out the line, it’s one of my favorite brands ever!
This review contains a press sample sent to ABS by the brand’s PR representative for blog consideration. If you have any questions regarding the foregoing, please feel free to contact me at a.beautyful.sentiment@gmail.com.

12 Responses to “Sensai Cellular Performance Hydrachange Cream Review & Swatches”


  1. I'm glad you're posting!! I keep meaning to e-mail and then forgetting when I come to work… bad reader. How have you been?? I am in a lipstick phase and recently purchased a few of the Chanel Rouge Cocos… except now I can't find them >__< wish me luck, as I'll be hunting for them on my days off!This cream looks SO interesting. I am still using pretty much the same moisturizing system (Clinique's) with the addition of my Hadalabo toner and my skin's been pretty happy, which is probably good as they don't sell Sensai in Canada!! Glad you had the opportunity to try this so that you KNOW it's worth shelling out the $$ to repurchase… maybe you can purchase it during an event?


  2. waaaah Jen! You actually posted! Yess~Such a tiny jar! And it's a miracle product…if only it wouldn't be sticky! >.< I H.A.T.E. sticky creams @_@ No matter how much i like a cream, if it's sticky we have to part.Anyway, good to see you blogging!^^ ❀

  3. Annie Says:

    would you also recommend the mist? do you think it's a necessity?

  4. Deb Says:

    Glad to see you back! I've been thinking about you off and on. I know price shouldn't be a factor in if a product is good or not, but it always seems like the one product that works really well ends up being the costly one. That happens to me all the time. Such is life…


  5. Justine I'll definitely be waiting for one of Bergdorf's gift card events before I splurge.I've been okay – insanely busy with work and also insanely stressed, but I guess it could be worse =P. How are you liking the Rouge Cocos? They've been on my to-try list forever but I've just never gotten around to it. I know what it's like to lose lippies – I have this Guerlain Rouge G that I've been searching for for months now! Good luck on your lipstick hunt – let me know how it goes! πŸ™‚


  6. Mary I really hate sticky too – that's one thing I can't take in a product (well and products that smell really horrendously bad). Thank goodness I seem to have grown immune to this products slight tackiness though!It's good to be blogging again – hopefully I don't pull another disappearing act!


  7. Annie if you can afford the mist I'd say go for it as I absolutely ADORE it, but I'm not sure just how much it's doing for my skin, and how much of it is in my head. It is insanely pricey so if you have a toner you love though, I'd stick with it and put that money towards a great serum. Have you tried Shu Uemura's Depsea mists? I'd say the Sensai mist is similar, although I do like the Sensai much better.


  8. Me too Deb – at I'm pretty sure it's not just that I'm willing to give the expensive products more of a chance as I expect them to be better. I really do try to be an equal opportunity beauty lover and I try it all, from the drugstore products to the high end, but the really expensive ones (at least the ones that are good) just end up being SO good. Although I must say that my absolute FAVORITE product at the moment is L'Oreal's Go Clean 360 which comes in at just under $7! And I've been thinking about you too Deb – it's good to see you again! I've been a little busy lately planning big things for the blog, namely finally launching that forum and the shift to WordPress – I won't say when but they're both coming very soon! πŸ˜‰


  9. Hi Jen!I LOOOVE the Rouge Cocos. At least the 3 I have. They are moisturizing, just a touch matte, and they leave an even stain on me even after drinking and (light) eating! I found the Rouge Cocos I'd purchased. On a whim I ran out to check our recycling bin and they were still wrapped in tissue paper in the Murale bag! My mom must have thought the whole bag was garbage. I am SO RELIEVED now, my poor Chanel lipsticks. I have Legende, Tafetta Rose, and Camelia – I'll have to take pics for you! I also picked up a few of the new matte Lancome lipsticks which swatched REALLY nicely – I hope they wear well! Did you end up trying the Rouge D'Armani lipsticks? They finally arrived here but the colour range is a bit overwhelming for me at the moment.On a related note, my favourite product right now skincare wise is STILL the L'Oreal Go360 cleanser… I've only had one pimple since I started using it!


  10. Justine thank goodness you found those beauties before they ended up being crushed and recycled! I've been a bit out of the makeup loop lately (swamped at work and I've been trying to sleep all I can in between) so I hadn't even realized Lancome had launched matte lippies – definitely need to check those out. I purchased an Rouge d'Armani a few months back and just haven't gotten around to reviewing it – thanks for the reminder. Formula-wise they sound similar to the Rouge Cocos – nice long wearing formula with long-wearing color that leaves a great stain that lasts for hours and hours on end. And YES the Go 360 Cleanser are just AMAZING – definitely my current skincare product as well. My skin is so so happy and my pores are looking amazing!


  11. I was SO HAPPY after I found them, and I think I probably would have cried if I hadn't thought to check the bin until AFTER the recycling had been taken away! They were totally fine though! I keep looking at swatches and thinking I want them… I have my eye on Cambon next. :)I'm wearing Lancome's Matte Stylista, and the texture is nice (not drying). It's a bright coral πŸ˜€ Hope you get some downtime to check out the makeup! I am really liking Dior's summer collection right now, and am impatiently waiting for some of the Canadian counters to get the new Serum de Rouge colours in stock!


  12. Justine sounds like you've got some beauty-filled weeks ahead of you! I REALLY need to try the Chanel Rouge Cocos and to check out the upcoming Dior collections. I need to get back into beauty mode!


Leave a Reply

