UNII Palette Review: Simplify Your Makeup Life

February 7, 2010


Many of you have been requesting of review of the palettes that I used to pack my makeup goodies for my Cali trip, and now that the weekend is finally upon us I’ve managed to set aside some time for this post! In a word these palettes are awesome – they’re cleverly packaged, come in a variety of fun, vibrant shades, are ridiculously easy to use, and best of all, are super travel-friendly (and make fantastic gifts).


Check out the full review and find out where these palettes are from after the jump!



So where are these fun little palettes from? The clever mind of UNII Cosmetics creator Minna Ha who created the UNII palettes to enable you to combine magnetized products from all different brands into one convenient palette.


The palettes comes in this pragmatic yet cute envelope packaging that opens to reveal instructions on how to depot using a blowdryer (I have yet to try this method but definitely will in the near future) and much much more.


The palettes themselves are just all-around fantastic, albeit a tad pricey at $29 a pop (although worth it in my mind). They come with their own magnetic strips that you cut to size, and unlike the magnets that I purchase at crafts stores, these are actually strong meaning I can bang my palette around without having to worry about things popping out of place. The large, clear interior mirror is indispensable (I whip mine out on the airplane or at work to touch up my makeup and it’ so nice not having to peer into some tiny little thing) and the rubberized seal around the edges prevents any leakage, but my favorite aspect of these palettes is the dimensions.


The UNII palettes (pictured in Pomegranate above) measure 3.7″D x 6″L x 0.7″ thick – and what really ensures that I use these often is they’re just thick enough that you can even pop a few eyeshadow brushes in there. I happen to hate having to carry a separate pouch for my brushes and always end up just using sponge applicators or my fingers for touch-ups, so the fact that I can now just pop a few of my MAC SE brushes or any of my shorter-handled shadow brushes right into the palette is just amazing.






The UNII Palettes are available in Lemonglass (yellow), Eggplant (purple), Snow (white), Pomegrante (pinky red) and Twilight (blue) and they’re all just gorgeous. Each shade contains this nice multi-dimensinal shimmer that gives them that extra special something, and there’s really a shade for everyone (how perfect is Snow to store your bridal makeup?).

Check out close-ups of Lemonglass and Snow below to get a better idea of the shades and the shimmer in them – how pretty, right?



I have last-minute makeup-requiring events come up all the time so I’m never without at lesat one of my UNII palettes. Now all I need is to buy one of Bobbi Brown’s pan foundations so that I can pop one in one of my palettes and really have a face in a palette. I’d definitely recommend these as gifts for your make-up loving friends as they’re practical, cute, wonderfully sturdy and oh so convenient.

Availbility: Online only at the UNII Palette site for $29.00.

This review contains a press sample – Minna, the creator of these wonderful palettes, was referred to me by the gorgeous Ana of Lipsticks & Lightsabers – gotta love your fellow bloggers! If you have any questions regarding the foregoing, please feel free to contact me at a.beautyful.sentiment@gmail.com.

18 Responses to “UNII Palette Review: Simplify Your Makeup Life”

  1. Anastasia Says:

    I knew you'd love them. Mine sent me on a mad depotting frenzy, to try and depot as much as I can. My go-to UNII palette at the moment contains my Tweezerman tweezers (yes! They fit! I stuck a magnet on those, too) a flat little brush, Milani Luminous blush, my Illamasqua brow powder, MAC shroom and a body shop eyeshadow I use for paler highlighting.I'm working on pressing my favourite pigments so I can use up my palettes better, and re-stocking my Benefit pressed powder to use. I looked up the Zpalette after seeing these, and can't believe people spend $20 on a palette made from paper, when you feel how sturdy and beautifully made these UNII palettes are.Plus, they remind me of my Nintendo DS lite. Love =D

  2. Catherine Says:

    Those look so amazing… if I ever manage to actually press any loose shadows, I will totally get one of these.

  3. tinagrzela Says:

    what's the little cube for?

  4. *Jen* Says:

    Ana it's such a good idea to pop a pair of tweezers in there! Did you use the heat depotting method that's included on the packaging? I'm a little scared to try that but I'm tempted.

  5. *Jen* Says:

    Catherine even if you don't the UNII palettes are great for storing random stray shadows, blushes, powders, etc.

  6. *Jen* Says:

    I can't believe I forgot to mention that tinagrzela! The little cube is a magnetized, removable thumb press – basically a spot for you to put your thumb so that it's easier to hold the palette. They come in shades that coordinate with the palettes, and what's great is that if you decide you don't need it or don't have room for it, you just pop it right out (and can use it as a refrigerator magnet).

  7. T.R. Says:

    Jen they are beautiful. I saw them on Youtube with Petrilude. She's definitely making the rounds. I saw a couple of other familiar bloggers on their site giving reviews. I'm wondering when she's going to post your's :O)Any who. I want all 5 but at $30 a pop I'll have to wait. Not saying they aren't worth it, just not in the budget right now. Of course the first one I get will be the red one.

  8. ezzie Says:

    the pomegranate one is gorgeous! i'm probably gonna be breaking my piggy bank soon. Lol 😛

  9. *Jen* Says:

    Tala they're really great palettes – I know I'll be making good use of mine.The white is currently my favorite – it makes such a nice, sleek backdrop to whatever I put in there.

  10. *Jen* Says:

    Ezzie I plan to break the piggy bank soon too – for some Paul & Joe goodies from Bergdorf :).

  11. Joolz Says:

    Thanks for posting, Jen! I've purchased mine and I can't wait to get it!

  12. *Jen* Says:

    Joolz I'd love to hear about/see what you end up putting in yours once it arrives!What shade did you end up getting? 🙂

  13. Joolz Says:

    I got the Eggplant! If I really like it, I'll get the pomegranate as well. I don't travel much but I just might have my excuse!


  14. The packaging's really attractive. And it's really convenient to take with you wherever you go.

  15. Stephanie Says:

    expensive, wow but it looks very much worth it! def going on my wishlist! 🙂

  16. *Jen* Says:

    Joolz did you get your palette yet? I hope that you've been enjoying it as much as I have mine!

  17. *Jen* Says:

    All Women Stalker I love how sturdy it feels. I tend to throw my makeup around a bit so sturdy really is key!

  18. *Jen* Says:

    Stephanie they definitely are a little bit of splurge but they're so nicely constructed that I can see them lasting for ages with proper care.


Leave a Reply

