Give Love a Chance

February 7, 2010

MAC Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15

Do you ever try a product, hate it almost instantly, set it aside and then try it months or maybe even years later only to realize that you actually kinda love it? I’ve never really been a fan of MAC foundations, but my friend Cathy uses them and her skin is always glowing and pretty much flawless, and even Nicole has been giving them a second chance lately, which in turn has made me want to give them another shot. I popped by the MAC store in Grand Central Terminal yesterday and had them slap a little Studio Fix on my face (half over Prep + Prime, and half over just moisturizer) and I’m thinking it may be worth a second try.

Are there any products you hated at first but then later grew to love? Share in the comments!

18 Responses to “Give Love a Chance”

  1. Jacqueline Says:

    Well I pretty much hated my Bobbi Brown Rose Shimmerbrick for quite sometime. I had oily skin issues and the shimmerbrick made my face look very oily. Now that my skin issue is settled, I have come to appreciate Rose very much.


  2. The secret to using the Studio Fix Fluid is applying with a skunk brush. You look airbrushed!!

  3. Aleksis Says:

    I NEVER thought to try any MAC found. because of all of the horror stories but the very first one I tried I LOVED (mineralize satinfinish) I was so flabbergasted! I think I'll be trying some more. I also have a friend who wears studio fix and her skin looks amazing.


  4. The only time I had this on me it caked like hell! I was so embarrassed to walk with a fake head! I'm sure if I were to apply it myself, with more care than the SA did, it would be better, but after that day I never again want to go close to this foundation @_@

  5. chung Says:

    Good question! It's funny that you talk about this foundation because I had just posted a few days ago on why I MAC Studio Fix Fluid is not for me. I don't go back to things that break me out no matter how many other people rave about it but I will go back to products that didn't perform as well as I would have liked.

  6. J-Ezzy Says:

    I love Studio FIx! I tried Revlon's PhotoReady Foundation and hated it at first. I tried it later on witha darker shade and exfoliated skin and it was perfection!What shade are you in Studio Fix Fluid? I'm NW30

  7. *Jen* Says:

    Jacqueline it took awhile for the shimmerbricks to grow on me too. My skin is still settling into the winter season though and so it's very temperamental.

  8. *Jen* Says:

    Dominique that's what the artist used on me. I do find using a skunk brush a little annoying though, mostly because I just don't have the patience. I really need to pick up the 188 as the head is smaller and may be a little more user-friendly.

  9. *Jen* Says:

    Aleksis I wanted to try that one until I saw that it's light coverage – you know I need all the help that I can get. You have such gorgeous skin (not to mention gorgeous features) – you're making me want to try it!

  10. *Jen* Says:

    LOL Mary my issue was that the stuff turned really super orange on me towards mid-day so that I looked completely ridiculous.

  11. *Jen* Says:

    Chung I'm probably crazy for going back to products that have broken me out before, but I'll give them a second shot weeks or months later (after my skin has settled). More often then not, they end up breaking me out again though, of course.

  12. *Jen* Says:

    J-Ezzy the PhotoReady took tries for it to grow on me too – it really needs too be applied to fresh, smooth, nicely moisturized skin or else it's kind of messy looking.I wear the NW20 but it's a tad too dark for me, and throughout the day it gets darker and oxidizes making me look orange, but NW15 is just too light. It's a toughie =X.

  13. T.R. Says:

    Personally I can't think of any product off the top of my head. The only MAC foundation I've ever used is the stick one.

  14. *Jen* Says:

    Tala do you like the stick foundation? I've been wanting to try it simply because it looks so convenient to tote around but I always tend to avoid the MAC foundations.

  15. J-Ezzy Says:

    It oxidizes for me too! I bet we share the same issue with tons of gals 😉

  16. shaynaJo Says:

    exactly what I thought.. I tried this MAC studio fix few years ago and didn't really like it. However, few of my friends are asking me to give it a try and now i'm thinking of giving a "second chance" haha.

  17. *Jen* Says:

    Sounds like it J-Ezzy! I can forgive a lot of things in a foundation, but really bad oxidation isn't one of them. I mean who wants to look orange for half the day?

  18. *Jen* Says:

    ShaynaJo it befuddles me how it looks so good on certain people but so horrendous on others. I guess our complexions are all really very different.


Leave a Reply

