The Amazingly Luminous Helium Girl on Idol

February 3, 2010


Last night I managed to catch the tail-end of the American Idol auditions taking place in Denver, Colorado, and while the singing was rather atrocious (did we all really need to have our delicate eyes subject to bikini boy?) I was entranced by the gorgeousness that was Nicci (Helium Girl) Nix’s complexion – from the moment I caught sight of her on camera all I could think of was how radiantly her skin glowed, and apparently Victoria Beckham agreed as she felt the need to comment on her beautiful skin.

While her skin was pretty amazing, Nicci definitely had the aid of a healthy dose of luminizer in achieving that glowing look. Check out her audition video and a luminizer suggestion after the jump!


LORAC Oil-Free Luminizer Pearl L1

While the video quality on YouTube and the still up above don’t capture Nicci’s glowing skin in all its glory, it really was pretty amazing and has inspired me to dig up some of my luminizers to experiment a little. In my desire to achieve matte, long-wearing looks I’ve forgotten the beauty of healthy, glowing skin.

The easiest way to infuse a small dose of luminosity into your life? Just take a pump or two of liquid luminizer (like Lorac’s Luminizer pictured above) and mix it into your liquid foundation prior to application – voila, instant glow!

What are your favorite liquid luminizers? Any suggestions as to one I absolutely must check out? Share with me in the comments!

40 Responses to “The Amazingly Luminous Helium Girl on Idol”

  1. Blair Says:

    I can't wait to read the suggestions from your readers, Jen! I'm looking for a fabulous luminizer as well!

  2. Katiya Says:

    it's called sweat. little girl is so nervous that she's sweating… and mix that with youth = pretty skinbut also keeping maintenance on your skin like washing it 2x a day and eating healthy.you go helium girl!

  3. Brooke Says:

    She was luminous, wasn't she? I was amazed by how beautiful her skin looked. I have one that I just love. It's made by Artistry (owned by Quixstar I believe). A friend bought it for me a few years back and it is just amazing. It gives you this sheer, gorgeous, glow that just looks awesome šŸ™‚

  4. *Jen* Says:

    Blair hopefully some great suggestions pop up!

  5. *Jen* Says:

    LOL Cathy – no need to remind me of my rapidly fading youth =X. Btw would you mind sharing where you got the Fairy Drops mascara? Your public demands to know :).

  6. *Jen* Says:

    Thanks for the suggestion Brooke! I attempted to google artistry luminizer and I'm not having much luck :(.


  7. Holy shit! How can someone go around with that voice? ROFL Actually, the more I listen to her, the more normal it becomes!Hey, what is Victoria doing there? Was she always part of the jury? And why?? Oh wait, forgot she's "posh spice" >_> Not like she ever sang on her ownerr I don't like her, sorry >.<

  8. Liana Says:

    great post, thanks for sharing! i love glowy skin and am always looking for products to achieve that look! šŸ™‚

  9. PixyEla Says:

    Wow I love her glowing skin as well!! I want that LORAC luminizer now hehe. It just brightens up your face so beautifully. Thanks for sharing. šŸ™‚

  10. *Jen* Says:

    LOL Mary that's exactly what I thought. Although I guess it's kinda cute. I think Victoria was a guest judge for the week. When I saw her it took me a moment to remember that she was actually a singer at some point – although definitely not the best. She's very chic though!


  11. But her mom screaming on the phone was cuter IMHO =)Oh thank God! I was afraid she was trying to pose as a reputable singer! šŸ˜„

  12. ezzie Says:

    luminizers tend to make me look oilier, but i'm determined to somehow find a product and make it work!

  13. K Says:

    I like mixing my Skinfood Limeshine Base before with my foundationbut it broke me out and doesnt last long! booany more suggestions?


  14. Her skin looks fantastic! I think my skin is usually glowy based on what everyone tells me, and because I can't find a matte foundation to match. Her skin looks FANTASTIC though šŸ™‚


  15. I just saw Nicci's audtion! I'm usually very much annoyed byt voices like that but I can tell that her voice is naturally like that and she's so adorable! Her skin looks fab! Great luminizer tip! I used to mix luminizers in my foundation a lot but haven't done it in a while… time to dig mine back up as well!

  16. Jian Says:

    I don't know, I'm all for the glowy look, as long as it's not on me. I look greasy as opposed to glowy when I'm glowy D= I think I'll stick to being matte for now.Victoria Beckham did actually have a career as a solo artist for a while here in the UK, although she was pretty unremarkable. It also turned out that apparently she had someone actually singing FOR her, behind the scenes type. Scandalous.


  17. I keep on hearing about the Nars Orgasm Illuminator, heard it is excellent. Maybe you can check it out for us!


  18. She has such beautiful skin. That must've taken a lot of effort to care for and maintain.


  19. Aww, she's so cute! I live in Scotland so I don't watch American Idol, but I hope she does well. Thanks for the luminizer tip; off to hunt a good one done ^D^

  20. Deb Says:

    It's probably just me, but she looked too shiny for my taste. Her high voice is probably due to insufficient air passing through her vocal cords when she speaks. She obviously forces more air from her lungs when she sings, so her voice gets lower. I didn't find her speaking voice too annoying. There is actually a girl who works at a local restaurant who has an even higher-pitched voice than this girl. That is annoying.

  21. natural soap Says:

    Some people sing naturally, others just look great, having both makes you plain lucky!

  22. Anastasia Says:

    I think Victoria looks downright scary in that. I did a double-take when I saw her. I'm not a fan of the dewy skin look at all, I think the girl looks kind've plastic, but that's just my personal taste. If I were to try and rock dewy skin with my paleness, I think I'd just look greasy. The Illamasqua Satin primer and Prescriptives uhm… magic… illuminating…potion thing (yes, that's definitely the right name) are pretty nifty illuminators, though. Also, hi :3


  23. LOL Helium GirlI think she kinda sounded like Paris Hilton.Lots of love,Katiexoxo

  24. *Jen* Says:

    Liana I love both the matte and glowy looks – they're both great!

  25. *Jen* Says:

    PixyEla it really does – I think I'm going to experiment with a few luminizers tonight.

  26. *Jen* Says:

    LOL Mary the mom on the phone really was cute :).

  27. *Jen* Says:

    Ezzie I have that problem too, but like you, I'm determined to make the look work for me as it really is so pretty.

  28. *Jen* Says:

    K none at the moment but I'll keep everyone updated. Yeah I had this Skinfood primer that I LOVED but it broke me out horribly so I had to toss it.

  29. *Jen* Says:

    What foundation do you use Justine? I'm always told my skin looks glowy too, but this is only 3-4 hours post foundation application and I'm pretty sure it's just oiliness LOL.

  30. *Jen* Says:

    Connie usually I am too but on her it's kinda cute.

  31. *Jen* Says:

    Jian I had no idea Victoria Beckham ever had a solo career!

  32. *Jen* Says:

    Lily I've actually been wanting to try that out, thanks for the reminder. I may just have to review that for the blog :).

  33. *Jen* Says:

    All Women Stalker I'm wondering what skincare she uses, her complexion really is gorgeous.

  34. *Jen* Says:

    Sara Leslie it's one of the few reality shows I like but sadly I haven't really had the time to keep up with it lately.

  35. *Jen* Says:

    Deb I can't even imagine a higher-pitched voice, that must be quite grating!

  36. *Jen* Says:

    So true natural soap!

  37. *Jen* Says:

    Hey Ana! So sorry to have been ot of touch for so long, life has been a little insane and I'm just barely staying on top of things. I really want to try that Illamasqua Satin primer – my friend tried one of their primers recently and loved it!

  38. *Jen* Says:

    Katie to be honest I couldn't hear the singing too well as I was doing a million other things at the time, but her complexion definitely made a lasting impression.

  39. Monica Says:

    I love using MAC's Strobe Cream. It's really lightweight and isn't greasy at all. It gives a healthy glow instead of shine like a lot of luminizers do, and which doesn't really work for my oily skin. But Strobe Cream is really good, you should give it a try when you get a chance!

  40. *Jen* Says:

    Hey Monica,Thanks for the suggestion, that's actually one product I've been meaning to try! Some of the ones with a pinkier glow really seem to emphasize my pores but I'm hoping Strobe Cream may work well for me.


Leave a Reply

