Bits Brought Home From Cali

February 2, 2010


I’ve been looking back through my monthly archives for 2010, and I’ve been a bad, bad blogger. I’m dreadfully behind on reviews and comments, still haven’t had a chance to put together the forum, and I promise I haven’t forgotten about that massive giveaway I posted about. But I’m going to take this week to attempt to get caught up on all of these things so don’t give up on me just yet. In the meantime, I wanted to share some photos of all the wonderful goodies I brought back with me from California – some purchased by yours truly, others gifted to me by the wonderful Cathy. More details and photos (including a sparkly beaded headband and a super-cute, super-cheap pair of booties) after the jump!

Cathy welcomed me to California with a fantastic package full of goodies including Mario Badescu’s Silver Powder (I’ve been meaning to try this for years now) and Fairy Drops Platinum Mascara (such cute packaging!). As for the Epicuren Glycolic Skin Peel – we ran into this lady at Walgreens (maybe it was Rite Aid) one night and she just raved about how this had completely eliminated her pores and so of course we had to run to Larchmont Beauty to try it for ourselves. Review to come!


I picked up this really cute beaded headband from Anthropologie ($32) to wear to my cousin’s wedding as my hair was a bit of a disaster that day. My only styling tools were a blowdryer and a comb so I needed a little something to distract from all the mess.


Cathy picked up these boots for me from Forever 21 of all places – I rarely shop there as it’s a madhouse and not really my cup of tea – who knew they made such cute, insanely inexpensive shoes? I think these were $27.50 or so, and not only are they exactly what I’ve been looking for, but they’re pretty comfy to boot. LOVE these!


And Cathy and I also got these dainty matching bracelets while shopping at The Grove, this great outdoor shopping mall. All in all it was a whirlwind three days and I was so sad to leave (especially knowing that I had to go back to work).

What have you all been up to during the past two months that I’ve been neglecting ABS? Any new developments? We need to catch up!

30 Responses to “Bits Brought Home From Cali”

  1. Diane Says:

    omg where I've been meaning to buy that fairy drop mascara! But the thing is what store did you get it at?

  2. Deb Says:

    Great stuff! The wand on the Fairy Drops Platinum looks even funkier than the original wand. I can't wait to hear it about it.


  3. I'm glad you had an awesome trip!! I've met some lovely girls through blogger and they're all over the world so I hope that someday I can meet more of them in person… šŸ™‚ Doing New York and San Francisco for sure this year, I think!The headband is lovely – I have issues wearing wrap headbands though, I don't know if it's that my head is too big but they always seem to slide off, eventually :S. This looks like it'd be nice and stretch though. So pretty! The boots are super cute, but I agree about F21 – there's only ONE in Southern Alberta so it is always busy and the store usually looks like a hurricane's torn through it. But I might have to look… cheap boots are awesome!I still can't find my tube of Fairy Drops. So I started a tube of ICONIC instead. Do let me know how the Platinum version is, the silver packaging is somehow even cuter! Is it supposed to be waterproof?Nothing else is really new for me in the last two months (oh except I'm back at work now, back is fully recovered) but haha… I'm debating over my first YSL lippie (I like the look of 29 Opera Rose) but the collection isn't in town yet for me to swatch!

  4. Liana Says:

    ooh i love those shoes! do you know where you friend got the fairy drops?

  5. MeiBelle Says:

    I absolutely love your boots and bracelet! I hope to see a review about the fairydrops mascara soon! I really want to know if it's as amazing as people make it sound ^^

  6. PixyEla Says:

    Yay sounds like you had a lot of fun in Cali & got great stuff. The brush for the Fairy Drops Platinum Mascara looks interesting. :OI love the headband and the booties!!!!! They are super cuteee. Can't wait for your reviews and all that jazz. Welcome back Jen!!! ^^

  7. ezzie Says:

    those boots are too cute! and ooh, the fairy drops mascara looks DARLING. can't wait for more posts~

  8. Katiya Says:

    Ooh loved your review!!! also can't wait to read your reviews for the epicuren stuff and the platinum fairy drops. I've been a very very good girl and have been waiting to finish my fairy drops before starting the new one.What's really amazing is pairing the collagen loreal mascara with fairy drops, it works really well.Miss you already!!!

  9. Blair Says:

    Hi Jen!I can't wait for your review of the Epicuren Glycolic Skin Peel!And welcome back! I've missed your posts šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

  10. SoRi Says:

    Yes, you bad bad blogger you!! I have been feeling rather ABS deprived for… well… WEEKS! but of course, you have a life. And I`m sure we`re all grateful that you thought to check in on us crazed, ABS-withdrawl`d followers. <3I`ve actually been digging through your older posts and finding things I want for myself, but textbooks are a priority… unfortunately.T_TI hope the east coast weather isn`t too much of a bummer compared to lovely Cali, and you`ll be settled enough to bring us another review soon~!!<3<3<3

  11. IMM Says:

    I can't wait to hear your thoughts on MB's Silver Powder and Fairy Drops Platinum – interesting packaging!

  12. *Jen* Says:

    Diane I'll be sure to ask my friend and post on the blog! šŸ™‚

  13. *Jen* Says:

    Thanks for the link Jeweled Thumb! I knew a little about what it meant, but didn't actually know what it was called.

  14. *Jen* Says:

    Deb I'm in the process of being the mascara guinea pig once again so that I can review it for you all! šŸ™‚

  15. *Jen* Says:

    Justine I'm hoping to one day meet at least a few of the wonderful people that I've encountered through blogger – maybe one of these days we can have a fun beauty blogger meetup in NY! :)I have the same issues with wrap headbands, although this one stays put better than most. I'm actually planning to remove the elastic so that I can glue this onto a slim black headband for easier wear. The F21's in LA were rather awesome – neat and tidy, organized, stuff wasn't crammed together – loved it! I'm not 100% sure on the difference between this and the regular fairy drops, although I think the platinum has fibers in it. I'll be sure to keep you updated!I've got my eye on Opera Rose too – saw it in the recent Bloomies catalog and it looks lovely!

  16. *Jen* Says:

    Liana I'll be sure to ask her and get back to you all – that seems to be the question of the day!

  17. *Jen* Says:

    MeiBelle I have high hopes for Fairy Drops Platinum as I LOVE the original – if you haven't already, do check out my mascara series as I've reviewed it there :).

  18. *Jen* Says:

    Hey PixyEla!I did indeed have a ton of fun – I can't believe that Cathy and I managed to fit so much into two and a half short days!

  19. *Jen* Says:

    Ezzie no worries they're coming soon – in fact I'm working on them right now!

  20. *Jen* Says:

    Hey Cathy!There's no way I can wait – you know how impatient I am – so I'll be breaking into mine any day now.Miss you too! Apparently I'm going snowboarding on Saturday =X. Let's hope I don't come back with a concussion lol.

  21. *Jen* Says:

    Awww thanks Blair I've really missed being able to blog! I need to make time to use the Epicuren Glycolic Skin Peel so that I can properly review it for you all. Lately I'm too tired to even wash my face some nights =X.

  22. *Jen* Says:

    I know SoRi, I'm sorry! I knew I'd been bad about blogging these past few weeks, but I had no idea how bad until I saw that I'd only posted 13 times in January!! Compared to the 60something posts I sometimes do per months it was rather appalling =X. LOL I promise to bring you tons of great product reviews to makeup for it. And yes textbooks are might pricey! I'm really enjoying the snow this morning – it has a way of just making everything look prettier and happier. Until it gets all nasty and slushy that is.

  23. *Jen* Says:

    Hey N!I'll be reviewing them soon – my pores are loving the Silver Powder, it really clears them out.

  24. gio Says:

    Sounds like you had a great time and what nice things you got. I love those boots, they are gorgeous!

  25. Jannette Says:

    that platinum fairy drops really excites me lol! I loved my original fairy drops so much, it was one of my favourite things from HK and Korea!


  26. Those boots are just too cute! Love the matching bracelets you got!

  27. *Jen* Says:

    Gio I do too – they were such a fabulous deal.

  28. *Jen* Says:

    Jannette Fairy Drops is seriously one of the best mascaras ever – it looks so beautiful on!

  29. *Jen* Says:

    Thanks All Women Stalker! I have yet to take mine off, and I've been wearing the boots everywhere too :).


Leave a Reply

