Drugstore Discoveries: Revlon PhotoReady Foundation Review & Swatches

January 20, 2010


PhotoReady Makeup, Revlon’s latest foundation release, has been stirring up much buzz around the blogosphere as the drugstore alternative to MUFE’s HD foundation. Its wallet-friendly $13.99 price tag and its promises of a dewy, camera-ready complexion have helped it attain HG status with many, so you know I had to try it for myself. Check out the review after the jump!


I will say this – Revlon’s PhotoReady really is quite good for a drugstore foundation. It wasn’t love for me for a number of reasons, but it is one of the best drugstore foundations I’ve tried to date (good drugstore foundations seem to be few and far between), and even bested many department store foundations I’ve experimented with through the years.


So first for the good ~ the pump on this is pure genius! It enables you to precisely control the amount of foundation that you want and dispenses everything mess free ~ now you’d think this would be something too basic to even mention, but it’s seriously appalling how badly some foundations out there are packaged. Coverage is light/medium but buildable, and the formula is wonderfully light and glides nicely across your skin.


As for the bad? Well my main issues with this foundation are that shade #004 Nude is way too dark/yellow on me, and oxidizes throughout the day making me look like some sort of orange-faced troll. Gripe #2 is that PhotoReady emphasizes any flakies and dry spots you have, meaning moisturize well or don’t bother with this stuff. PhotoReady also has a tend to slide around on my oily forehead after 2-3 hours, and really has trouble staying put in the area around my nose (although I’ll admit most foundations do slide around for me in that area).


Now I know that most of you have heard complaints of the Twilight-esque sparkle in this foundation, but honestly I don’t notice it at all. I set mine with La Mer’s translucent loose powder which already has a healthy dose of shimmer to it, and seriously the only time you’ll notice shimmer is when you’re standing under direct sunlight, and really, what’s so wrong with a little shimmer? The bigger issues for me is the emphasizing flakies and pores and looking a little cakey when layered aspects of the foundation.


All in all this is one of those foundations that falls into the “good enough that I want to love but has enough flaws that I just can’t” category. Maybe I’m spoiled having found a few foundations that work magic for my complexion, but while PhotoReady really is quite decent, it’s a pass for me.

32 Responses to “Drugstore Discoveries: Revlon PhotoReady Foundation Review & Swatches”


  1. Thanks so much for the review! Ugh, my skin flakes under foundation despite having used a moisturizer. I think I'll skip this one!


  2. Every time I see foundation reviews I want to try them, but then I remember that I never wear foundation so… I don't. Sucks that this didn't work as awesome for you as it did for others, especially with the flaking issue! Thanks for the review, Jen 🙂

  3. PixyEla Says:

    I wanted to try this after fafinettex3 talked about it in her video. But now after your review, not so much anymore lol. Your reviews are so detailed and very useful, so I trust you. 🙂 Have you ever tried Maybelline's Dream Liquid Mousse Foundation? I'm currently using it and I really like it so far. Also, I use it together with their Dream Matte Powder to set it.

  4. J-ezzy Says:

    I couldn't agree more with EVERYTHING you said! I've been using it for the past 2 weeks and I can't LOVE it, it does slide around on my forehead after a few hours and reallllly shows the dry flaky parts of my skin :(Thank you SO much for the review!


  5. Thank you for the review of this foundation. I have been anticipating its arrival. But after some of the things you noticed like it brings out the dry spots and slides around the nose I think I might just pass. I have dry areas on my face and some foundations dont stay around my nose so I might just try it just to try it but i will be very scepticle. Thank you 🙂 Follow my blog 🙂 Thanks Hun!


  6. you now, i have read so much controversal posts about this foundation now that i am super curious and really want to try it out myself. i hope i get hands on a bottle. you are lucky to find a match so good as the choices are so limited. looking at your swatch, i may be the same colour too.

  7. MeiBelle Says:

    Great Review! I feel the same way about the patchy ness.I haven't had it turn orange on me! Yikes! And I agree with the pump as well, I hate that most don't have the pump. Take care! ^^

  8. Askmewhats Says:

    any foundation with "Photo Finish" written on its packaging intrigues the hell out of me, I wish we'll have it here soon! 🙂

  9. Tammy Says:

    I'm still in the testing stage of this product, but so far I really like it.

  10. Christine Says:

    Thanks for the review! Out of curiosity, what are your favorite foundations? Would you say that MUFE's HD foundation is still better than the Revlon one?

  11. Shilka Says:

    Thanks for the review honey! I have been pondering about buying this product, but Revlon ColorStay also had the problem for me of enhancing flakes and pores on my skin… Seems PhotoReady does not bring any innovation to deal with this issue 😦 Oh well, pass for me then ;D *more money to spend on something else hehe*

  12. missmicchan Says:

    thanks for your review on the foundation!


  13. Thanks for the review! It really did cause a lot of hype, but I heard some bottles have tons of shimmer, which I'm not a fan of :X

  14. StuddedLilly Says:

    i got this few weeks ago and so far i think i like it for night out, but for day time i think its a bit too heavy for me but its definitely a good buy!xo


  15. Cool! I wanna try this.

  16. *Jen* Says:

    Connie it's nice but not the best. I'm just not a fan of any foundation that showcases flakies – my skin's not that dry so if a foundation showcases dryness on my skin, that's BIG no no.

  17. *Jen* Says:

    Justine you're just lucky to have naturally beautiful skin!

  18. *Jen* Says:

    Awww thanks PixyEla! Sometimes I feel like I'm a little too particular, but I'm always on the quest for that perfect product so I think I have to be =P. I've been wanting to try the Liquid Mousse for the LONGEST time but I've been hearing mixed reviews so I actually haven't yet. I hope to soon though!

  19. *Jen* Says:

    Glad to hear I'm not the only one J-ezzy! It's a nice foundation but like you said, it's not love as there is a lot wrong with it. The texture is pretty great though!

  20. *Jen* Says:

    Thanks for the comment LoveLifeFashionMakeup! I had heard this stayed put amazingly well, which is what spurred the purchase, but on my face it's disappointingly transient.

  21. *Jen* Says:

    Jojoba Nude is a little yellow/dark for me, I think Shell may have worked much better. Do give it a shot though – I love trying products that are hyped up on the web, just to be able to test them out for myself.

  22. *Jen* Says:

    MeiBelle I LOVE the pump so much! I think it turns orange on me because it reacts with the oils on my skin – I'm an oil slick by midday!

  23. *Jen* Says:

    Askmewhats I was hoping Photo Finish = airbrushed, flawless finish but sadly it wasn't to be. Oh well – I'll just have to keep on looking!

  24. *Jen* Says:

    Ahh Christine I forgot to compare this to MUFE! I actually dislike MUFE's HD as it makes my skin look horrendous (I seem to be the only one though) so this was a HUGE improvement for me.My favorite foundations (currently) are Kanebo Sensai's liquid foundation, Guerlain's Parure Extreme and Guerlain's Parure Pearly White. And I also really enjoy Bobbi Brown's Skin foundatino.

  25. *Jen* Says:

    Hope you enjoyed reading it Shilka! I was going to try ColorStay to compare to this but didn't feel like spending the money just yet.

  26. *Jen* Says:

    Hope you enjoyed it MissMicchan!

  27. *Jen* Says:

    Musicalhouses the shimmer's not hing that I didn't mind. It's only really visible under direct sunlight and not too big an issue for me, especially as I like shimmer. If this wore better and longer it could have been love!

  28. *Jen* Says:

    StuddedLilly I realized that you definitely need a light hand with this stuff as a little goes a long way – put on too much and it's definitely cakey looking. But I agree, it is a good value and decent for the price.

  29. *Jen* Says:

    Let me know what you think if you end up checking it out All Women Stalker :).

  30. *Jen* Says:

    Tammy it's definitely a nice foundation and not a bad value for under $15. Be sure to keep us updated on your experiences with it!

  31. Patricia Says:

    It seems with foundation, you really don't want to go cheap. I've been using MAC's Mineral foundation for six months along with a shine control primer, I love it because I never have to reapply it and I don't have freak breakouts anymore! Plus the Primer is like a shield against my skin so cleansing is also easier at night.Patricia fromskincare-tips-and-facts.com

  32. *Jen* Says:

    Patricia you're lucky that MAC's foundations work so well for you – I know that some people swear by them (they give one of my friends flawless, gorgeous-looking skin) whereas other people absolutely hate them.


Leave a Reply

