Packing For A Cali Wedding

January 18, 2010


My gorgeous younger cousin is getting married this weekend (which has brought on all sorts of old maid comments – le sigh), and lucky for me the wedding is in California, giving me an excuse to venture all the way across the country to spend at least a few days basking in sun before returning to the bitter cold of NY.

Getting my cosmetics together for a trip is always a bit of a production, but so far I’ve at least got my shadows and blushes picked out and placed into smaller palettes for easy travel.


Check out more photos after the jump!


I’m taking along a bunch of MAC pressed pigments in a variety of colors since I’m pretty indecisive and I probably won’t be 100% on the look I want to wear until the morning of the wedding. Plus I just love the way they look sitting in the palette :).


I’ve also packed a few of my favorite DEX eyeshadows and blushes and the pigmentation never fails me and they’re great options for my airport/shopping looks. And gotta love the fact that you can fit two eyeshadow brushes in there along with the products, making touch ups on-the-go that much easier.

I’m thinking I need to pick up an Evian spritzer and some other odds and ends, but for the most part I’m feeling pretty well set for my trip. Now to buckle down and choose a few lip shades to take with me. And you know I’ll be packing up the TEMPTU!

54 Responses to “Packing For A Cali Wedding”

  1. T.R. Says:

    Aww Jen you'll be out this way. At least bring a jacket. The days are good but it can get chilly at night. Though since you are coming from NYC you may not even feel the chill. :O)Have you done a review on these palettes. They are soooo cute. I'm dying to know where you got them. They don't look as big as my MAC or Z-Palette. BTW nice pigment pressing. :O)

  2. PixyEla Says:

    Ohh those are such pretty spring colours, very good choices!! Haha, I'm so indecisive as well. Hope you have fun at the wedding and soak up as much sun as you can!! Enjoy your trip. =)

  3. Lorelle Says:

    Great shadow choices! Are those magnectic palettes? They're so useful and compact! Definetly a travel must. 🙂 Have fun at the wedding and in the Cali sun!

  4. Celine Says:

    I hope the rain lets up for your cousin's wedding, we're supposed to be having a massive storm this week! Have fun out here 🙂 What part of California will you be at if you don't mind me asking?

  5. Khymm Says:

    very nice pastel colors!


  6. wow! i love your palettes, all pretty shades are there :)am following your blog, hope you can follow mine too. thanks 🙂


  7. i have never heard of DEX shadows. looks like Shu and I thought they were Shu!!! Have fun in cali. I miss that place.


  8. These look like the new palettes I saw on Pursebuzz (name escapes me at the moment). I like the look of them but they seem kind of pricy for free palettes; and also I only tend to BUY palettes (i.e. Dior) so I don't feel the need to depot as much. Plus for my next trip if I want a huge variety of colours I can just take my Yaby 🙂 I'm thinking of splurging on one of the Blush palettes or maybe getting an empty blush palette and figuring out how to depot my NARS blushes, haha :DHave an awesome trip!!

  9. *Jen* Says:

    Hey Tala!I'm so excited to visit Cali, I haven't been in so so many years. I did hear it's been rather rainy lately so I'll definitely be bringing a light jacket.I haven't reviewed these palettes yet and probably won't for a little while but I think they're really great and so handy. Plus love the fun colors.Thanks! I went through a pigment pressing phase some time back and it's all I wanted to do LOL.

  10. *Jen* Says:

    Thanks PixyEla, I definitely plan to. Can't wait to be somewhere warm!

  11. *Jen* Says:

    They are indeed Lorelle! I don't like traveling with my MAC palettes because I feel that the magnets are are a little weak and my shadows tend to move a little. These have a firm grip and stay put really well.

  12. *Jen* Says:

    I do too Celine – it's outdoors so the rain would definitely ruin things. I'm going to be traveling between LA and San Dimas – can't wait!

  13. *Jen* Says:

    Thanks for folowing Superchuboink!

  14. *Jen* Says:

    Jojoba the DEX products are pretty amazing – fantastically pigmented with great staying power. LOVE their blushes!

  15. *Jen* Says:

    Justine I don't depot often because I had a few bad experiences with cracking shadows, but I do hate when I have random loose shadows floating around that I got in pan form, so this is great.You know I'm still dying to get my hands on some Yaby – they're definitely on my want list!

  16. *Jen* Says:

    Thanks Khymm! I love the pinks and the purples so I'm packing plenty of those.

  17. Miss Boom Says:

    Bring an umbrella!

  18. *Jen* Says:

    Miss Boom I definitely will – now if only I had someone to follow me holding one over my head like the actors/actresses at the Golden Globes! =P

  19. Deb Says:

    Have fun and best wishes to your cousin! I am assuming you're flying. How do all the crazy airline security rule affect carrying makeup now? I haven't traveled in a while, and I always imagine the TSA folks giving me trouble because I am carrying a bunch of makeup.

  20. gio Says:

    Those palettes look pretty and convenient. Great eyeshadow choices too, love the colors. Have fun at the wedding.

  21. Katiya Says:

    I'll follow you with an umbrella Jen! And it's seriously cold here but the rain should clear up around the time you get here… but a waterproof jacket is highly recommended!

  22. *Jen* Says:

    Thanks Deb!I absolutely hate flying =X.I think I'm allowed products that are under 3 oz., although I'll have to double check that before packing any of my more precious items that I'd hate to have confiscated.The SO's convinced my TEMPTU is going to be seized because it looks like a weapon LOL.

  23. *Jen* Says:

    Thanks Gio. I'll probably go for something relatively boring and neutral for the day of the wedding, but I do like to keep my options open.

  24. *Jen* Says:

    Awww thanks Cathy! <3I can't wait to see you – probably the only things I'm looking forward to as the family is driving me nuts already and I haven't even seen them yet!

  25. ezzie Says:

    i love that elf eyeshadow brush, it works wonders! ^-^and ooh, i've been wanting those empty palettes. i think they're somewhat better than those z-palettes because it looks more sturdy and has a mirror inside~ :Phave a safe trip! it's suppossed to rain all week here, but hopefully the sun will come out to play at your cousin's wedding!

  26. Katiya Says:

    ya gotta love the family! it's ok because i'll keep you busy!


  27. Make sur eyou bring an umbrella as it is raining here in Southern Cali. I hope you enjoy your stay out here.

  28. *Jen* Says:

    Ezzie it's the cheapest one I own and seriously one of the best – it picks up and distributes color so well, plus it's a great length too.I love the super-sized mirror in these palettes – great for on-the-go application. I hope I get to see some sun! I'm sick of the dreary weather we've been getting in NY.

  29. *Jen* Says:

    Can't wait Cathy! I'm having some issues with them that I'm sure I'll be whining to you about. And I did ask them for their address, but they haven't gotten back to me yet =X.

  30. *Jen* Says:

    Thanks for the tip LoveLifeFashionMakeup. I'm pretty excited, I haven't been out in Cali for 15 years or so!

  31. miss wiggle Says:

    Welcome to Cali!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 And I LOVE the colors you're bringing with you. I find that I love pastels, but for some reason I don't have any!It's a bit rainy in Northern Cal too – dress warmly!! Wish we could swap and I could go to NYC haha~ Beats studying for exams, that's for sure.

  32. Stephanie Says:

    have fun at the wedding! I know when one of my younger cousins gets married, I'll be hearing it from the relatives.but could you tell me the name of those magnetic palettes?? I'd really like to know! I was in a depotting phase myself! haha.


  33. I was just wondering what the brand name of the magnetic palettes you used to put your makeup in. I've been looking for something like that for my makeup. Thanks!

  34. Bee Says:

    Wow, seriously, I saw the eyeshadow palette and I was like, "I want that!". It's gorgeous. Hmmm…depoting things into palettes… That sounds like a good idea actually. I don't wear that many eyeshadows and sometimes it's a hassle trying to find them in my bag and I forget which ones I have so, so putting them into a palette like that would be great.What palettes are they? Are they expensive? I'd probably have to ship them in from the US.I did have a Lancome palette before but I didn't really use it. I didn't find all the colours matched me so I'm a little wary of buying palettes now especially as it's so small, it's hard to get to the product?Anyway, it'd be great if you could also possibly post up what MAC eyeshadow colours they are? Is that a MAC blush too in the palette or a DEX one?Anyway, have a fabulous time in California. London is so cold and snowy and I'm ill. 😦

  35. Jéssy Says:

    All these colors are beautiful =)I am very keen to use MAC products!Everyone talks as well, pity that here in Brazil is much too expensive =(I want fractions of the MAC liquid foundation, do you know someone who sells?


  36. I love packing makeup for a trip… It's almost like shopping through all the makeup I own!I think you've picked a good selection for a wedding. I'm having a skin care giveaway on my blog 🙂 You should come sign up!http://mischievousmack.blogspot.com/

  37. Sarah Says:

    did you happen to mention what the name of the palette is? nice pressed pigments!

  38. Anonymous Says:

    Where did you get that case that holds all your shadows and brush?? Love your blog.

  39. may Says:

    where did you get those palette? They look pretty awesome?

  40. *Jen* Says:

    Miss Wiggle thanks for the warning – I ended up FREEZING one day!

  41. *Jen* Says:

    Stephanie I'll be blogging about them in the next day or so so be sure to check back!

  42. *Jen* Says:

    Charlotte it's a secret! LOL kidding – I'll be revealing the name in an upcoming post so be sure to stay tuned!

  43. *Jen* Says:

    Bee I'll be blogging about them in a day or two, but I will say they run $29 each so they're not inexpensive. The palettes are really a nice size and not as small as they look in the photo.In the palette is a DEX blush – I haven't gotten around to depotting any of the MAC ones yet and that DEX is my favorite. And I will definitely put together a post with the color names – if I forget please do remind me!

  44. *Jen* Says:

    Unfortunately I don't Jessy, but I'll be sure to let you know should I find anyone.

  45. *Jen* Says:

    Thanks Mack! It really is so much fun packing makeup for a trip – I ended up taking a TON of stuff.

  46. *Jen* Says:

    Sarah I'll be revealing the name in a day or two so stay tuned!

  47. *Jen* Says:

    Thanks so much Anonymous! I'll be blogging about the empty palettes within the next day or two so please come back.

  48. *Jen* Says:

    Hey May! They were press samples I received and they really are pretty fantastic! I'll be blogging about them soon :).


  49. Hi Jen, Will you be posting the information about the palettes soon? Can you tell me if we are able to purchase them at this point? I just ask because my girlfriend is moving to Hong Kong in a couple weeks and I was hoping to buy them for her as a going away present. She's such a makeup lover, I know she would love those magnetic palettes.Thanks!!

  50. *Jen* Says:

    Charlotte I promise to have it posted by tonight so please be sure to check back! 🙂


  51. I look forward to seeing your post!Thanks for getting back to me.

  52. *Jen* Says:

    Charlotte it's up now!


  53. Thank you! My friend is ordering all of the colors. She loves them!

  54. *Jen* Says:

    That's so great Charlotte! I hope she enjoys using them as much as I do!


Leave a Reply

