Revlon’s Version of MUFE HD? Peek at PhotoReady Foundation

December 21, 2009
(photo taken at my desk on my iPhone 2 minutes ago)

Say hello to the foundation makeup lovers have been touting as the drugstore alternative to Make Up For Ever’s nearly universally loved (other than by me – really don’t like the stuff) HD foundation. Revlon’s PhotoReady Foundation (with a nice SPF 20) isn’t slated to be released until March 2010, but it’s been popping up at various drugstores nationwide (I got mine at Duane Reade just now, but people have been finding it at CVS, Rite Aide, etc.).

Some proclaim its potential holy grail status, others complain of the Cullen-esque look they give them (too much sparkle), some raves it eliminates pores and lasts for 15 hours, others gripe that it emphasizes dry patches and imperfections and really isn’t all that – so of course I had to grab a bottle and try it for myself.

Expect a review (hopefully soon) on whether this $13.99 bottle of foundation really lives up to the hype (and there’s a lot of hype), or whether it’s just another dud for me. Oh and FYI I picked this up on shade 004 Nude which I’m praying isn’t waaay too dark on me!

26 Responses to “Revlon’s Version of MUFE HD? Peek at PhotoReady Foundation”

  1. J-ezzy Says:

    I haven't been to my cvs lately, I will be on the lookout for it!Can't wait to hear your review, Jen!!Such an adooooorable pic btw!!!xx

  2. mandy Says:

    A lot of people are reviewing this lately. I wonder if it's really that great! πŸ˜› Compared to the drugstores in my neighborhood, I find that the Duane Reades in the city usually have more of the newer products.

  3. *Jen* Says:

    LOL Thanks J-ezzy! My desk at work is a MESS and Toby's the only spot of cuteness on it so he gets to be in all the spur-of-the-moment photos =P.

  4. *Jen* Says:

    Mandy I'm hearing about it everywhere too, which is why I had to try it for myself. Even if it sucks, when something's generating this much hype I need to test it out firsthand =P.

  5. rayqueenbee Says:

    I haven't seen this at mines. Both VS and Walgreens in my area are so late with items because the Revlon Purple Passion collection has not even been released here yet.


  6. looking forward to the review! I have the ColorStay and even though it's a good foundation, I can't find a good color match.

  7. Askmewhats Says:

    I've been lemming for MUFE HD foundation and still haven't bought it because of the price! now I'm excited for this! I hope it gets to my country! πŸ™‚


  8. Oh, I'll wait for your review before trying it out. It pays to hear what others say of a product first before shelling out cash for it. I do wish it's true that it lasts for 15 hours and eliminates pores. LOL.- Kaith

  9. Uinisan Says:

    OH WOW.. definitely looking forward to that review later on about the Revlon foundation… if it's any good ppl will be saving heaps compared to purchasing the MUFE HD foundation

  10. Monica Says:

    I too am not a fan of the MUFE HD foundations but will check out the Revlon version. BTW I love your stuffed robot, too cute!

  11. Anonymous Says:

    Kayvid: I have searched close to 8 drugstores for this and its no where near me. Makes me so mad!!! All I can do is wait for your review now…:-(

  12. Liana Says:

    wow, i want to try it now! thanks for sharing!


  13. I love MUFE HD and I love the new Revlon PhotoReady on another blogger's face (buy me lip gloss). I am lemming it as I think it could be a cheaper version!

  14. Tammy Says:

    Who is the robot & why do I love him…?? He's so cute!!Please let me know what you think of this foundation..I've been dying to try it..

  15. *Jen* Says:

    Rayqueenbee they are behind! Hopefully it'll pop up near you soon, people seem to be having decent luck with Duane Reade and Rite Aid/CVS.

  16. *Jen* Says:

    Connie I'm thinking you might have the same issue with this one – I'm kinda loving the foundation but the shade is definitely off.

  17. *Jen* Says:

    Askmewhats I actually like this much much better than the MUFE HD – it smooths on much more easily and really looks pretty good on, although it takes some time to settle.

  18. *Jen* Says:

    Kaith on me it doesn't last for as long as I'd like but on someone less oily I think it would wear pretty well. As for the pores, you'll just have to wait for the review ;). It's coming soon though I promise!

  19. *Jen* Says:

    Uinisan I actually like this a lot better than the MUFE HD – it smooths on so well and wears nicely too.

  20. *Jen* Says:

    Monica I'm not either – it's up there amongst my least favorite foundations of all time.Awww thank you! He sits on my desk all day and cheers me up :).

  21. *Jen* Says:

    Awww Kayvid! I checked my Duane Reade again today and they still have one of all the shades. I may pick up 03 Shell as Nude is a little too dark/yellow for me.

  22. *Jen* Says:

    I'll be sure to review it soon Liana!

  23. *Jen* Says:

    Jojoba I'm really liking it too. I know people complain about the shimmer but it's invisible except under bright sunlight, although it's definitely present.

  24. *Jen* Says:

    Tammy he was a gift from the SO and I love him so much too – so soft and cuddly and isn't his face the cutest? :)I'll be reviewing this foundation within the next day or two so stay tuned!

  25. missmicchan Says:

    I'm really looking forward to the review. I hear it's been spotted here in Canada too! yay πŸ™‚

  26. *Jen* Says:

    missmicchan i've got it ready to go – i just need a few final touches!


Leave a Reply

