Holiday Gift Guide: For the Skincare Lover

December 8, 2009

My first installation of the ABS 2010 Holiday Gift Guide was created with my mother in mind – she, like me, is a true skincare lover, and I’d love to be able to purchase one of each and every skincare gift set on this list. What better way to show your love than to provide a certain special someone with all their skincare essentials beautifully pre-packaged for gift-giving?

La Mer’s The Connoisseur Collection ($395) brings together three of my favorite La Mer daily essentials in one serene seafoam-hued box. The products work in tandem to deliver a softer, healthier, more luminous appearance each day. My mother and I both happen to be HUGE La Mer fans (the Creme is her holy grail moisturizer) so this set is definitely a must-have for both of us.
Set includes:
• Creme de la Mer 2 ounces
• The Lifting Face Serum 0.3 ounces
• The Eye Concentrate 0.5 ounces

Amore Pacific’s Limited-Edition Time Response Set (a $600 value for $400) is chock full of anti-aging therapies geared towards continuously correcting, protecting, and reprogramming skin. Pure EGCG, a potent and rare botanical compound derived from green tea, protects skin from damage and premature aging. I’ve continually been impressed by the quality and efficacy of Amore Pacific’s products, and now is as good a time as any to introduce someone new to an amazing brand that doesn’t get nearly enough press! And if your budget won’t stretch quite that far, check out the Bio-Enzyme Refining Complex Holiday Set, a holiday duo I’m seriously lemming.

Set includes:
• Time Response Cream, 1.7 ounces
• Time Response Hand Cream 0.34 ounces
• Time Response Body Cream, 0.34 ounces
• Time Response Serum, 0.17 ounces
• Time Response Gel Cream 0.27 ounces
• 1st Harvest Halla Green Tea 0.7 ounces

Guinot’s Age Logic Vanity Bag (a $220 value for $190) contains all the essentials to achieve beautiful, younger-looking skin, all neatly tucked into an elegant shimmering black vanity bag. The high-powered cocktail of Actinergie, 56 cellular actives and and anti-oxidants in the Age Logic formula work to combat the cellular aging process by supplying the energy cells need for optimal functioning. Guinot’s Red Logic cream has attained holy grail status for me, and this face and eye cream are pretty fantastic as well.

Set includes:
• Age Logic Cellulaire 1.6 ounces
• Age Logic Eye 0.5 ounces

See some more selections after the jump!

Cle de Peau Beaute’s Premier La Creme Collection (a $563 for $500) pairs the creme de la creme of Cle de Peau’s collection (well notwithstanding their new releases) to make for the ultimate in luxury. I happen to love the Creme and the cleansing foam really is second to none.

Set includes:
• La Creme, 30ml
• Gentle Cleansing Foam, 30ml
• Gentle Balancing Lotion, 30ml
• Gentle Nourishing Emulsion, 15ml
• Signature Facial Service Card

Chantecaille’s The 3 Indispensables ($210) contains its three best-selling products in a festive red pouch that’s ideal for holiday gift-giving. While I have yet to try a single Chantecaille product, the Vital Essence has been high on my wishlist for ages as I’ve heard nothing but good things. I really don’t need another facial essence but I’ve been wanting to test it out as an undereye serum of sorts.

Set includes:
• Rice and Geranium Foaming Cleanser, 70 grams
• Flower Harmonizing Cream, 1.7 ounces
• Vital Essence, 1.7 ounces

Armani Beauty’s Crema Nera Set (a $420 value for $350), gorgeously packaged in a sleek black logo box, makes a great introduction to the newer skincare releases from what many consider to be the master of foundations.

Set includes:
• Crema Nera Cream
• Mineral Soothing Lotion
• Mineral Cleansing Balm

And last but certainly not least, Chanel’s Sublimage Luxury Voyage Collection ($400), an elegant travel set exclusively created for a woman to experience an incomparable age-defying ritual any time, anywhere in the world. While pricey, the Sublimage line really is quite amazing on the skin and this set makes an amazing gift.

Set includes:
• Sublimage Essential Regenerating Cream
• Sublimage Essential Regenerating Eye Cream
• Ultra-comfortable eye mask
• Special travel case and plush bag

4 Responses to “Holiday Gift Guide: For the Skincare Lover”


  1. *_* I really want to try La Mer products but I can't justify spending 100$+ on one product without trying it first… and I still REALLY want the concealer. Which is still not available in Canada. Maybe if/when it comes here I'll try to hit up my counter for samples at the same time 😉

  2. *Jen* Says:

    Justine they're definitely something you need to try before buying as while I know a ton of ladies who swear by the products, I also know just as many who absolutely hate them and can't use them. You know I was thinking about getting the concealer to review for the blog during Bergdorf's beauty event, and then I decided against it. I guess I should have picked it up! I'm still tempted to =P.

  3. Kasumi Says:

    Armani has the best packaging!! I love La Mer! It leaves my face so soft. I actually want to try Amore Pacific's set. Def considering it this Christmas.

  4. *Jen* Says:

    Kasumi can you believe that I have yet to purchase a single Armani cosmetics product? I've tried pretty much all the foundations and some powder thanks to Nicole sending me some fantastically generous samples, but nothing has amazed me. I have been dying to try their lip waxes though – I've heard nothing but great things.


Leave a Reply

