La Mer The Lip Balm Review

December 7, 2009


La Mer’s The Lip Balm icon($45) was a very generous gift from Nicole, who seriously has the most fabulous taste in cosmetics. So I know the big question on everyone mind is — is it worth it? Find out after the jump!


So what does your $45 get you? 0.32 ounces of long-lasting sweet, minty, refreshing balmy goodness containing La Mer’s famous Miracle Broth, vitamins, and marine and botanical extracts. The balm imparts a nice light cooling sensation and a yummy minty scent (and flavor), is never sticky, and is really incredibly moisturizing. A little goes a long way so while the stuff is pricey, it should last you for a few months of regular use.


My gripes? Well I would’ve liked a little SPF in the product, but I guess the absence of SPF makes for a nice nighttime treatment so it goes both ways. My one plea to La Mer is to bring us this fantastic balm in stick form – I would love not having to stick my fingeres into a pot everytime I go to obsessively reapply this wonderfully soothing balm.

So back to the question of whether this slim little pot is worth your hard-earned $45. While I absolutely love my La Mer The Lip Balm, I’m hard-pressed to say that it’s worth what could otherwise be spent on a new bottle of foundation or moisturizer. I personally would repurchase as I’m a bit of a La Mer addict and absolutely adore the product, but if you’re pressed for cash and on the hunt for an insanely moisturizing lip product, I’d say skip The Lip Balm and check out Sara Happ’s The Lip Slip instead. Yes it’s sticky and completely different texture-wise from La Mer’s Balm, but it’s also much friendlier on the wallet and makes a much-appreciated holiday stocking stuffer.

14 Responses to “La Mer The Lip Balm Review”

  1. Phyrra Says:

    My favorite lip balm is still the Aromaleigh Minty Coco Chip lipbalm. I use that stuff every morning after I brush my teeth, and at night before I go to bed. I would say it's a great one to add to a list of lip balms to try. It's been my fav for over a year now.That said, the Sweet Minty flavor of La Mer sounds nice πŸ™‚

  2. Tammy Says:

    there was a time when i considered purchasing this lip balm…but when i checked my local la mer counter over here, it was priced at $65 and i blanched and never thought of la mer again… but i'm glad you've found flaws in it, otherwise i might just break down and see what all the hype is about!^^ thanks for sharing your review πŸ˜€

  3. Catherine Says:

    Hmm… thanks for sharing your thoughts on this. My lips are getting a lot drier because of the weather now and I'm seriously considering investing in a heavier lip balm for winter… will have to check out both of these.


  4. I lose lip balm like mad, so while I am tempted by both this and the Lip Slip I'm probably not going to indulge in either as losing a 2$ lip balm is not NEARLY as traumatizing as losing something that is 30$+ (I think the La Mer balm is 50$ here, at least). Actually my favourite balm right now that gives me a tingly minty sensation is the Aquafina lip balm. It's 4 for 3$ at Wal-Mart, so I figure I can't go wrong with it πŸ™‚ It even comes in different flavours!

  5. Deb Says:

    I'll just stick to my MAC Lip Conditioner. I don't even spend that much on other cosmetic products. Spending $45 on lip balm is just inconceivable for me.

  6. *Jen* Says:

    Phyrra it sounds yummy – one of my faves is Bigelow's mint chocolate chip gloss – love the refreshing minty sensation and the delicious flavor. Is the Aromaleigh great in the moisturizing department?

  7. Phyrra Says:

    Yes. It basically feels like the moisture sinks into my lips and is locked in for hours πŸ˜‰

  8. *Jen* Says:

    Hey Tammy,It's definitely not a perfect product and while I love it, it's hard to say any balm is worth $45, especially when there are better, less expensive ones out there. I really do love Sara Happ's Lip Slip though and think it's worth the $25.

  9. *Jen* Says:

    Catherine my lips are definitely feeling the winter cold and suffering for it. I really think Sara Happ's Lip Slip is the ultimate in winter lip protection, although it really is rather tacky. Love it though!

  10. *Jen* Says:

    LOL Justine it's always super traumatizing to lose something expensive.I've been wanting to try those Aquafinas – so they're good? Will definitely check them out!

  11. *Jen* Says:

    Deb I do really love the MAC TLC's – they're really beautifully hydrating and of course very affordable as well.

  12. *Jen* Says:

    Sounds great Phyrra, that's definitely something that I'll have to check out for myself!

  13. ezzie Says:

    sounds pretty heavenly, but the lamer price tag is too steep for me :/but, i do love the korres lip butters! they're like wonders that come in a little pot form (: i fell in love after swatching one at ulta. and at 10 bucks, it's just the right price (:

  14. *Jen* Says:

    Ezzie the Korres lip butters are a fave of mine as well – they're so hydrating and come in such a great range of juicy tints.


Leave a Reply

