Lancome Oscillation PowerFoundation Review & Swatches

December 3, 2009
Lancôme ‘Ôscillation Powerfoundation’ Micro-Vibrating Polishing Mineral Make-up SPF 21 ($48)

When Lancome’s new Ôscillation Powerfoundation hit the market I think we all let out a collective groan, wondering if we really needed yet another gimmicky product that wouldn’t deliver on its promises. Well thankfully Lancome has obviated that concern by bringing us a product that actually delivers! Despite some flaws, this powder is quickly approaching holy grail status for me.


Check out the full review and tons of photos after the jump!


The Good: Apparently the beauty world really was in need of a vibrating mineral powder applicator as I can’t imagine being without mine. Now you all know I’m not a big fan of mineral makeup, and while I don’t know how much I love Lancome’s Oscillation PowerFoundation as a stand-alone foundation powder, as a setting powder it’s really second to none (except maybe maybe my La Mer loose powder).

icon

The 7,000 micro-vibrations per minute break down the powder so that it seems to almost melt into the skin, providing a truly seamless finish that just disappears into your complexion. You’ll never look powdery or overly made up using PowerFoundation, and as an added bonus, the micro-vibrations in conjunction with the minerals in the foundation provide your skin with mini-massages during each use, making for softer, smoother, healthier skin in the long run.


As for the flocked applicator – it’s bouncy, soft, holds and distributes the product well, and really is all-around pretty great. Coupled with the beautiful powder formula (think light, airy, yet slightly creamy with light to medium coverage and up to 14 hour wear) Lancome Oscillation PowerFoundation is a winner in my book.


The Not So Good: Of course no product is perfect, and Oscillation PowerFoundation is no exception. My main gripe is the fact that I couldn’t find a shade to match my complexion – Beige 10 (which I got) is way too yellow, and Ivory 10 was much too white. Luckily the powder is fine enough that I can get away with wearing it, but I’d love to have a shade that actually matches my skintone. The other gripe? The fact that you can’t wash these puffs – I’ve been using mine for weeks and it’s starting to look a little gunky and nasty, and while Lancome has been promising to bring us replacement heads at some point, I want them now! =P



The Verdict: Lancome’s Oscillation PowerFoundation tends to be a little too sheer for me to use as a stand-alone foundation, but layer it over some liquid foundation, let it work its complexion-smoothing wonder and you’ll have some serious magic on your hands. It smooths down even a rough liquid foundation application job and wears beautifully without oxidizing. At $48 it’s pretty pricey for the 0.28 oz of foundation that you get, but if you can afford the splurge do check it out!

I purchased this product myself at Bloomies, especially to review for you! You know I can’t resist trying all the latest and greatest gimmicky products!

24 Responses to “Lancome Oscillation PowerFoundation Review & Swatches”


  1. I was totally getting deja vu reading this post and I couldn't figure out why, and then I remembered that you did a video review of it a while ago. I kind of want to try it for the novelty, but it isn't available yet in Canada, so maybe by the time it gets here my lemming will be killed. ;)Also I got a second 15$ coupon from Sephora, to the same e-mail I got the 20$ coupon from… good for me, I guess. XD;

  2. Taryn Says:

    I had it and really liked it, but the lightest color was just too orange for me. :(As far as cleaning it, what about spritzing it with a brush cleaner? It might get some of the residue off.

  3. Askmewhats Says:

    i"ve always wanted to give this a try but it hasn't arrive in our shores yet..maybe..hopefully..soon! 🙂

  4. Catherine Says:

    Hmmmmmmm… I am still not convinced that a good kabuki doesn't do just about the same thing. And no replacement heads yet????

  5. Tammy Says:

    Thanks for your review Jen!I was wondering about the brush head because I always get powder puffs mucky from my blush and etc. since I usually use powder last. I hope the replacement puffs won't cost half as much as the powder itself! :/

  6. Deb Says:

    The lack of replacement heads and inability to wash the existing head bothers me. Even if my face is clean when I apply powder, I worry that a sponge or puff could start to harbor bacteria over time. I am surprised they didn't think of that immediately. Maybe they just wanted to see if they could get the product to sell first.

  7. Tavia Says:

    I've heard only good things about this foundation and I read so many positive reviews. I know that many girls have the problem with the matching color. I definitely want to buy it when it will be available in my country 🙂

  8. Sonia Says:

    Hey Jen,I'm actually a MUA @ Lancome (quitting soon, but that's on another topic), and I was told that you can actually clean the sponge applicator that comes with it.Just run it under some cold water with a little bit of soap (we used liquid hand soap at the counter), and it'll get rid of all the gunk in no time. :)Hope this helps!

  9. SoRi Says:

    I`ve been wanting to buy a powder foundation, just because my liquid foundation takes so much time to apply… Some days I end up going bare (EEK!!) just because I savor the few extra minutes of sleep, and end up not having enough time to apply makeup before rushing to class. Such is the sad, unglamorous life of a lazy college student. :POf course, this one it way out of my budget, but it certainly doesn`t stop me from admiring it and wanting it. xDThanks for the review~!

  10. gio Says:

    Thanks for the review. I was curious to try it but it's not available here yet. I don't think I'll get it though, at least not until they release the replacement brush heads. I don't like to apply makeup with a dirty brush head, it's gross and I'm worried it could harbour bacteria too.

  11. *Jen* Says:

    LOL Justine I totally meant to link back to the video but I forgot =X. I knew I was forgetting to do something!Oooh Justine I'm jealous – two coupons?! I want two!

  12. *Jen* Says:

    Taryn I really do wish the color selection was better – Beige 10 is definitely waaaaay too yellow on me. I do wipe it clean after each use but I'd really love to be able to give it a thorough cleaning at some point.

  13. *Jen* Says:

    Askmewhats I hope it arrives somewhere near you soon, it's really a fun product that's actually pretty effective.

  14. *Jen* Says:

    Catherine I've never had much luck with mineral foundations and kabukis – plus all that buffing just makes my skin a little itchy. I really like the ease of application with the vibrating puff – plus it's so fun!

  15. *Jen* Says:

    Hope you enjoyed it Tammy! I use this over foundation and so my puff is definitely starting to look a little gunky and gross. Yeah I'm wondering how much these replacement puffs are going to cost, and why Lancome's waiting so long to bring them to us!

  16. *Jen* Says:

    Deb it really bothers me too. When I'd initially purchased this, the SA had told me that I could just wash the puff (plus at the store hers seems to pop right of for cleaning) but then I go online and see that they recommend not getting this wet. I'm wondering why the delay in releasing the replacement puffs too. And I'm hoping they're not going to be too pricey!

  17. *Jen* Says:

    Tavia I was so disappointed when I couldn't find a color match in the store. The shades are relatively forgiving, but Beige 10 is still definitely too yellow for me.

  18. *Jen* Says:

    Hey Sonia,That's what the MUA at the counter told me too, which is why I was confused to see that on the website they say you shouldn't get this wet as it might mess with the moving parts. I may just attempt to wash mine since Lancome does say they will be coming out with replacement applicators. Worst comes to worst I can just get a replacement =P.

  19. *Jen* Says:

    LOL SoRi I remember the too-lazy-for-makeup days all too well! I even have them every once in a while nowadays even though I work and I look TERRIBLE without makeup =D.Some morning I'll skip the moisturizer and just slap on a BB cream to cover both foundation and moisturizer in one.

  20. *Jen* Says:

    Gio I'm really hoping the replacements come out soon. I remember that at the counter the puff parts popped right off of the vibrating part of the applicator, but I've been hesitant to remove mine because if it's not meant to come off, I don't want to be ripping it off.

  21. Sonia Says:

    Jen – just make sure to remove the sponge off the applicator before cleaning it! Allow it to dry overnight, and then pop it back on. 🙂

  22. *Jen* Says:

    Sonia I'm going to give that a shot – hopefully all goes well!

  23. Anonymous Says:

    Cushion refills are actually available for purchase at nordstrom.com and other retailer website!

  24. *Jen* Says:

    Hey Anonymous,Thanks for mentioning them, another reader was kind enough to point them out to me as well. So glad they're now available!


Leave a Reply

