Drugstore Discoveries: Burt’s Bees Radiance Facial Cleanser Review

December 3, 2009


Burt’s Bees Facial Radiance Cleanser with Royal Jelly
($10.00 for a generous 6 fl. oz.) is one of those drugstore gems you discover every now and then – the kind that makes you wonder why you bother to spend $50 on a pricey department store cleanser that you happen to love but loathe shelling out for every few months. Read the rave after the jump!


Burt’s Bees Radiance Cleanser
is pretty much exactly the kind of cleanser I like to use every day. It’s a light lotion-type cleanser that, when mixed with water, lathers lightly and becomes wonderfully milky. It’s effectively removes all of my makeup while leaving my skin neither stripped nor oily thanks to the additions of nourishing royal jelly and very lightly exfoliating jojoba beads. Plus I do happen to be rather fond of the packaging, particularly the easy lock mechanism for the pump which makes this a dream to travel with.


I actually have noticed that my skin appears to be brighter when I use this cleanser on a regular basis, and I have every intention of stocking up and using these as stocking stuffers. I think they’re a bargain at only $10.00 a pop (it’s tough to find a good product under $10 nowadays) and do recommend that you check them out!

This was my first Burt’s Bees purchase and I’ll definitely be making more in the future. Who knew that a drugstore cleanser could feel so luxurious and department store-y?

24 Responses to “Drugstore Discoveries: Burt’s Bees Radiance Facial Cleanser Review”

  1. Janine Says:

    Oh my, I'm always on the search for a great face wash (and one that works!)Thanks for the post hun!!


  2. I have always been a fan of Burt's Bees products. I love their toner and their nifty packaging is such a bonus. I may have overlooked this cleanser but I will try to check it out when I go see the Burt's Bess counter in the mall. – Kaith

  3. *Jen* Says:

    Janine I'm always on the hunt for cleansers that are better than just 'decent' and this is definitely that, plus very affordable to boot. My skin has really been enjoying it for the past few months.

  4. SoRi Says:

    Ooh! I`ve been using Clean&Clear Makeup Dissolving Foam Cleanser (which I saw you have a review on!!) and Aveeno Clear Complexion Foaming Cleanser. Neither of them seem to COMPLETELY remove my makeup, since there is always some nasty residue on my cotton ball when I wipe my face with toner. I miiight just look into this and hope it`s better and removing makeup! Merci for the review!! ❤

  5. The Mighty J Says:

    Oh usually love the lippies from Burt's now will have to try this.

  6. Catherine Says:

    Oooh, that sounds fabulous! I may have to go try this to see if it can take my Kiss Me mascara off! I like the L'Oreal green one, but I would love something easier to use!

  7. Sojourner Says:

    Do you think this would work for sensitive skin?

  8. *Jen* Says:

    SoRi you have good taste in cleansers! The Burts Bees doesn't seem to leave residue, although I actually use it after I've used an oil cleanser in place of a foaming cleanser. I do love it though!

  9. *Jen* Says:

    The Might J I love the tinted shimmery balms from Burt's Bees – they're so cute and fun!

  10. *Jen* Says:

    Catherine I actually haven't seed/tried that one. Is it any good? Have you tried the Clean & Clear eye makeup remover that I reviewed? It's pretty amazing!

  11. *Jen* Says:

    Sojourner if your skin is sensitive as in easily irritated and prone to breakout, I'd say this would probably be okay, but if it's super sensitive and very very dry I might avoid it as I think on very dry complexions it might be just a tad drying and not the best match.

  12. *Jen* Says:

    Kaith the packaging on this really is quite utilitarian and convenient – makes me happy! What toner do you use from Burt's Bees?


  13. I saw this today and remembered the post, and I think I'll try it once I'm done my current facewash… the braekouts on my forehead are better but I still get the odd zit which is really annoying. I wish you could get samples of drugstore stuff though, I'm kind of afraid to try new things aver Clean & Clear broke me out in high school 😦

  14. ezzie Says:

    the other day i was contemplating weather or not to buy burt's bees radiance day moisturizer. my skin has been under a bit of stress lately, so i wasn't really in the mood to try out something new. for christmas i really want to get myself clinique's 3-step skincare kit though. have you tried it? if so, is it worth the hype and the moolah?

  15. Kit Says:

    I'm always on the look out for lotion type cleanser recommendations and this one looks promisingly. The price tag is also appealing. I'll try it out once I go through my stash of H20 cleansers.

  16. evie Says:

    ooh this looks good! i think i shall try it too!!!

  17. Bee Says:

    I'm a HUGE Burt's Bees fan, because of my super-sensitive skin. I find I don't react to anything. It's a bit more expensive over here in the UK and before it was really difficult to find. I've used their Orange Oil Cleaner and Radiance Day & Night Cream and Eye Cream. Orange Oil Cleanser, at first, I didn't think it was that good but when I used more of it, it actually worked really well on my skin. Need to use quite a bit though… Smells divine! The Radiance Day Cream was the first skincare product of theirs I bought (apart from the lip balm) and that was what made me fall in love with Burt's Bees. I love the light texture. Only problem is that it doesn't have SPF, although there may be one that does have SPF now. I bought the Cream version in a cute glass jar. The Night Cream texture is gorgeous looking. It's all pearlescent. 🙂 So, yes, I'm quite a fan! Oh, Jen, you haven't replied to my email from AGES ago. :p

  18. *Jen* Says:

    Ezzie I'm always hesitant to try out new moisturizers as certain ones make my skin go crazy. Clinique's 3-step was a little rough on my skin – the toners are a little harsh and the moisturizer really does nothing for me, although I do enjoy the gel version which is nice and gentle albeit not moisturizing enough for me in the winter. I've found that REN products work really really well for me though.

  19. *Jen* Says:

    Kit I love lotion-type cleansers – I feel that they're so much gentler on my skin. I know L'Oreal will be coming out with one soon that's going to be really cool – it even comes with this cleansing pad thingy. Do you have any loves amongst the H20 cleansers?

  20. *Jen* Says:

    Justine there were a few Clean & Clear products I tried that broke me out HORRIBLY! Particularly this one cream cleanser – it made me skin yo crazy.

  21. *Jen* Says:

    Evie I really like it! I'm all about gentle, effective cleansers that contain good-for-your-skin ingredients.

  22. *Jen* Says:

    I'm so sorry Bee, I've sent you a response! I've totally lost track of all the e-mails in my inbox lately =X. The Orange Oil Cleanser sounds delicious although I haven't seen it before. Will definitely have to keep an eye out for it. Oooh I really enjoy pearlescent products, especially day creams for a little extra glow. One more thing to add to my list!

  23. Anonymous Says:

    I couldn't find this product on Burt's Bees website. Is it really new? Or perhaps being discontinued?

  24. *Jen* Says:

    Hi Anonymous,I believe that it's not really new – maybe it is being discontinued? I've been looking for another bottle and haven't been able to find out either.


Leave a Reply

