A Few Photos to Whet Your Appetite & A Quick Bal De Nuit EOTD

November 12, 2009


As many of you know, yesterday was a rather special night for me, and I chose to celebrate at DBGB Kitchen & Bar, one of my favorite new eateries. It’s nothing too fancy, just delicious simple food served in a great casual ambiance.


For our appetizers we ordered the Fried Egg Bourguignon (duck confit and cracklins, portobello mushroom, red wine and spicy greens) which was to die for (the SO and I were both tempted to order another), the Pate Campagnard (good but not great) and the Beef Bone Marrow (which comes with some delicious Katz’s pastrami).


No photos of the entrees as we were starving and forgot to take a photo before we devoured them, but in case you’re curious SO and I had the Sauteed Skate with Cauliflower Risotto and the House-Made Tagliolini Pasta. I absolutely love skate but it’s rarely done well, but DBGB’s was absolutely scrumptious and the risotto, with its beautiful baby cauliflower, was just heavenly. And don’t even get me started on the tagliolini – wild mushroom ragout, handmade pasta, spinach pistou, all topped with an egg yolk – warm comfort in a bowl!


And what’s a special occasion without dessert? While I love DBGB’s ice cream sundaes, I decided to try something different and got the Souffle Chaud which is a Grand Marnier souffle with creme anglaise that takes ten minutes as it’s prepared to order. It was hot, sugary, creamy, fluffy, and simply decadent.

As for my makeup, I decided to keep it simple and elegant by doing a quick look using my Guerlain Bal de Nuit holiday quad.


I used the soft ivory shade all over my lid and the taupe shade alng my outer V, then piled on the mascara and I was good to go! I wore Chanel Narcisse on my cheeks (I can’t thank Nicole enough for this, it’s seriously the most versatile blush I own), highlighted using Guerlain’s Perles Imperiales Meteorites, and my much-cherished Sensai Lipstick in Hitoume.

How was your Tuesday? Do anything interesting? šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

