Exotic Jewels by Heidi Klum for VS Makeup Collection Review & Swatches

October 22, 2009

Inspired by her trip to the spiritual city of Varanasi, Indian and the Indian-themed vow renewal ceremony she shared with husband Seal in Mexico last year, Heii Klum’s Holiday 2009 Exotic Jewels collection interprets her exotic finds into a sparkling and rich palette of irresistible shades.

I haven’t paid Victoria’s Secret cosmetics much attention in the past as I’d always assumed I wouldn’t love the quality, but the Exotic Jewels collection has made me eat my words ~ in a word it’s fantastic and I loved every single piece I tried! And the packaging is actually much prettier than what you see in my photo, which is the products housed in their ‘sample’ packaging.

Check out the individual product photos and review after the jump!

The collection’s Perfect Lipstick in Exotic Spice ($16) is a glimmering beigey nude lipstick that’s decadently rich and creamy feeling. The formula sheathes lips in full-coverage smooth glossy color that has a warm chocolatey scent and flavor to it, and it seriously feels just delicious on the lips. It’s a little more than I’d expect to pay for a lipstick from Victoria’s Secret, but it the formula really is exceptional. As for the shade – it’s a little beige for my taste (I’m not a fan of beiges) but I do like it for a more neutral look.

The Lip Gloss in Passion Fruit ($14) is a mauvey shade with gold shimmer in the tube and on my lips it has a nice golden shimmer to it that helps to blur lines and imperfections while providing some subtle color. I do wish it had a bit more pigmentation.

Glitter Liquid Liner in Majesty ($12) is an alluring shade of purple with plentiful amounts of silver shimmer. Love to use this on my waterline for some added pizzazz to an otherwise neutral look. Wear-time is good but not phenomenal.


My favorite piece from the collection? This Extra-Lengthening Mascara ($13) in this rich regal shade of Amethyst. This lengthens beautifully and I absolutely love the unique brush:

One side is comprised of almost flat spiraling bristles, the other of brush-like bristles. I wiggle the flatter end at the base of my lashes, then comb through with the brush-end and I’m left with beautiful, amethyst-hued long lashes.

Overall the Exotic Jewels collection gets two thumbs up from me ~ the quality of all the products is quite exceptional (I was seriously shocked) and I’m loving the richness of all the purples and neutrals.

This review contains a press sample sent to ABS by the brand’s PR representative for blog consideration. If you have any questions regarding the foregoing, please feel free to contact me at a.beautyful.sentiment@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

