DEX Mineral Pressed Eyeshadow Review & Swatches

October 19, 2009
DEX Modern Minerals Mineral Pressed Eye Shadows ($18)

With insanely pigmented shadows ranging from pure shimmery whites to rich sparkling sapphires and available in both satins and mattes, DEX’s mineral pressed eyeshadows have risen amongst the ABS shadow ranks to become one of my favorites, and definitely the best mineral shadows that I’ve tried to date.

The shadows are fortified with the anti-aging DEX Peptide Complex which is supposed to diminish fine lines and wrinkles by promoting cellular turnover in your delicate eye area (and as an added bonus they’re both cruelty-free and paraben-free), and while I can’t say that I’ve noticed any anti-aging benefits from using these shadows (I don’t really have any upper-eye wrinkles so to speak), the shadows really are amazing in and of themselves.


The DEX Mineral Pressed Eyeshadows come in plastic clamshell form, and are meant to be popped into one of DEX’s many palettes (the one shown above will run you $10 and holds 4 shadows or 2 blushes or 1 blush and 2 shadows), making them eco-friendly as well.


Read on after the jump to find out why I love these so much and to check out the swatches!

  • Harlem Nights Sapphire: A seriously intense matte midnight blue that will knock your socks off. Amazing as a liner or as a smoked-out blue eye for evening.
  • Boat House Sky Blue: A matte baby blue with gray undertones. A little sheerer than the others but stunning layered over my Jill Stuart Eye Jellies.

  • Ms. Liberty Green: By far my favorite shade of the bunch, this olive green with golden pearl offers intense pigmentation and is just insanely flattering. I can wear it to work, for an evening out, and it plays so well with other shades. Plus I just love the name!
  • Off Broadway Copper: A pearled copper that’s reminiscent of a shiny new penny.

  • The Dakota Spice: A matte taupey milk chocolate that’s another one of my favorites. It makes for a fabulous understated smoky work eye.
  • Tudor City Plum: A plum with brown undertones and soft sheen to it. Honestly wasn’t too crazy about this particular shade on its own as the purple/brown mix just doesn’t work too well on me, but with a light dusting of Rockefeller Gold over it (see swatch below) it’s really pretty.

The Review: So I’m sure by now you’re wondering what it is about these shadows that makes them such a must-have for me. Well to me, a shadow is only as good as its texture and pigmentation, and these happen to be absolutely top notch. DEX’s mineral shadows are seriously outrageously pigmented (just a light tap is enough color for your whole eye and then some) and blend beautifully. I do wish that there were a few more fun shades available, but in terms of the quality of shades that they do carry, well I’d say I’m pretty wowed.

Swatches (L to R):
Tudor City Plum, Ms. Liberty Green, Boat House Sky Blue, Harlem Nights Sapphire

Swatches (L to R):
Penn Station Chocolate, The Dakota Spice, Rockefeller Gold, Off Broadway Copper

I’ve been wearing these almost exclusively since I received them, as not only as they intensely pigmented, but they’re also seriously crease- and fade-free shadows, meaning I can get away with not wearing any eyeshadow primer on a good day (which is unheard of as I have terribly oily eyelids). Plus I like knowing that I’m doing something good for my lids while prettifying them as well.

Availability: DEX Modern Minerals are available online at www.dexnewyork.com as well as at the Dex Beauty Atrium flagship location in NYC (224 West 30th Street). The line is also carried at select Maria Martin boutiques around the country and at PIR in Canada.

This review contains a press sample sent to ABS by the brand’s PR representative for blog consideration. If you have any questions regarding the foregoing, please feel free to contact me at a.beautyful.sentiment@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

