Mascara Series Part 33: CoverGirl LashBlast Length Review & Photos

October 15, 2009
CoverGirl LashBlast Length ($7.49)

The Claim: Get a blast of long lashes all day! LashBlastLength’s patent-pending tapered brush and nylon lengthening formula combination work together to lengthen lashes that won’t flake or smudge. CoverGirl’s longest brush ever takes lashes up to 80% longer, while the unique Elasta-Nylon formula flexes without flaking so lashes hold their length all day. Preferred 4-to-1 over the leading lengthening mascara for flaking.

The Packaging: The slimness and sleekness that is LashBlast Length was a nice change of pace from the original LashBlast which I reviewed here, and the tapered bright yellow tube is just downright fun. The exterior of the tube has this nice texture to it and overall I’m a fan!

Click to enlarge!

The Brush: The brush is also a huge change of pace from the original LashBlast – while this one is rather long, it’s narrow and therefore very Asian-eye friendly and such a pleasure to use. It’s narrowness makes it perfect to maneuver into those corners of your eyes where your inner and outer lashes like to hide, and emphasizing those is really vital for a fully dramatic look. LashBlast Length’s brush successfully grabs, defines and elongates each and every lash without my ending up with mascara all over my upper eyelid.

Check out the rest of the review and photos of LashBlast Length on me after the jump!

The Formula: The formula is where my love for LashBlast Length really kicks in! So as most of you know, I’ve been a quest for a cheaper, non-smudging version of YSL’s Everlong for the longest time now and honestly nothing has even come close ~ except LashBlast Length! Now the definition isn’t quite as fabulous, nor is the length, but the formulas do feel quite similar going on. LashBlast Length has the same somewhat dry feeling formula that’s a breeze to work with and I can apply layer after layer without clumps or flakes.

One coat of this mascara really doesn’t do much for me, but after coats two and three I’m in long-lash heaven! If you’re looking for dramatic volume and a thick lush fan of lashes I’d turn elsewhere, but if your aim is to achieve super long fanned out lashes that won’t clump or flake (I did experience an almost negligible amount of smudging) and will feel fluttery soft all day, you really can’t beat this for the price.



Usage Tips: Alternate layers of LashBlast Length with your favorite volumizing mascara for a thick, impossibly long fringe of defined lashes that will have amazing natural lift (thanks to LashBlast Length).

The Verdict:
I’ve got to say that this is my favorite mascara purchase in quite awhile (notwithstanding two mascara reviews I have coming for you soon ~ thankfully I’m on a good mascara streak now!) and I was really surprised by how much I loved LashBlast Length! If you’ve got short, sparse lashes like me and are looking for something to draw out that length, LashBlast Length might just do the trick!

PACKAGING: 4/5
USER-FRIENDLINESS: 5/5
VALUE: 5/5
PRODUCT: 4.5/5

OVERALL: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

