L’Oreal HiP Color Chrome Eyeliner Review & Swatches

October 13, 2009


L’Oreal HIP products have disappointed me in the past, but these HIP Color Chrome Metallic Finish Eyeliners definitely get the ABS seal of approval and are a must have in my book! Don’t believe me? Check out the swatches – these are like liquid metal and it was seriously love at first swatch. Scratch that – more like obsession!

Top to Bottom: 920 Gold Charge, 915 Silver Lightning, 910 Black Shock

Check out the full review and glistening metallic swatches (plus my thoughts on how these compare to Urban Decay’s 24/7 pencils) after the jump!

910 Black Shock

910 Black Shock is a rich shade of black that contains silver flecks that are almost imperceptible but lend a little bit of shimmer and sparkle to those dramatic black-liner looks. A fabulous pencil in its own right, but nothing compared to the beauty of Gold Charge and Silver Lightning!

920 Gold Charge

920 Gold Charge is a jolt of pure gold color that shimmers, shines, and glows just like liquid gold. Even a non-gold lover like myself can appreciate the beauty of this!

915 Silver Lightning

Oh Silver Lightning, how do I love thee? This was the first HiP Chrome Eyeliner I tried and it remains my favorite. One light swipe gives you the look of molten liquid silver ~ it’s truly magical and a sight to behold.

The formula of these Color Chrome Eyeliners is really fantastic. The lightest touch will yield rich, intense pigmentation and these are so ridiculously creamy and glide so well that you’d swear they went on as a liquid if you weren’t looking right at the pencil for yourself. They look like the liquid metal forms of the colors they come in, and while they do take a few seconds to dry, once set they aren’t going anywhere.




The second set of swatches above is a photo of the back of my hand after a shower and much vigorous rubbing on my part – the point that the skin on my hand was red and raw. I glide these along my waterline with no effort at all (these will never ever drag or pull) and they stay put better than anything else I’ve tried. Dare I say I even prefer these to Urban Decay’s 24/7 liners?

On me at least, the pigmentation on these is richer than on the Urban Decay 24/7 pencils, plus they glide better (I bet you didn’t even think that was possible), last longer and wear better than their Urban Decay counterparts. That’s not to say that the Urban Decay pencils are shoddy by any means – they’re pretty fantastic in and of themselves. The downside? The HiP colors are available in a pretty limited shade range, so you’re definitely not going to be getting the selection you do with Urban Decay.

Availability: These go for $10 (or a little less) a pop at a drugstore near you, so definitely check them out. I’m most definitely a fan!

4 Responses to “L’Oreal HiP Color Chrome Eyeliner Review & Swatches”

  1. Katiya Says:

    So I just bought a bronze colored pencil from the collection and the pencil is amazing! I used it on my lower lash line and it never smudged and stayed on all day. It definitely beats the UD 24/7 pencil that I bought and I'm in love! Thanks so much for reviewing this product! I would've never looked at it at the drugstore. I'll have to find the black liner pencil that they don't carry at the rite aid's here in LA 😦

  2. *Jen* Says:

    Cathy aren't these so fantastic? So hope to hear you're loving them too – they're cheaper than the UD 24/7's, and just as good if not better. I love the silver so much, it creates such a cool effect.

  3. Anna's Nails Says:

    i like this pensils,my one are rubbish

  4. *Jen* Says:

    Anna which pencils had you tried previously? There are definitely some not-so-good ones out there but there are great!


Leave a Reply

