Drugstore Discoveries: L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Foundation SPF 17 Review & Swatches

October 2, 2009
L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable makeup SPF 17 in Shade Buff Beige N4 ($10.95)
True Match™ Super-Blendable Makeup precisely matches your skin’s tone and texture and coordinates perfectly with True Match™ Powder, Blush, Concealer and Bronze Glow. Formulated with Precise Match™ Technology so you can control coverage and fine-tune it. Ultra-pure formula contains no oils, fragrances, or pore-clogging fillers, so all you see is beautiful, radiant, flawless skin.

One caveat before I get into the review: the shade was waaaaaaaaaaay too dark for and so I didn’t get to give this product a fair shake, but I figured I’d share my thoughts on it with you nonetheless!


The Packaging: I didn’t much care for the packaging – it’s cute to look at, but it’s really not all that practical. I was always either getting not enough product onto my fingers or much too much product pouring out into my hands, and never seemed to be able to strike that happy medium.


The Formula: True Match Super-Blendable provides light to medium coverage (it wouldn’t really be all that super-blendable color-wise if it provided full coverage) and glides amazingly well over the skin. It has this almost greasy (but never unpleasant) feel to it and it seriously smooths on like liquid silk to deposit a sheer but buildable layer of color over the surface of your skin.

So on the bright side it didn’t irritate my skin, clog my pores or break me out and looked pretty darn good on me despite the fact that it was the wrong shade, at least for the first 2- 3 hours. As for the bad, well by the end of the day my face was this unnatural shade of oompa loompa orange that really nobody in their right mind would want to be.



The Verdict: I loved the way L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup looked and felt for the first few hours and it even did a decent job controlling my oilies, but I really wasn’t a fan of the orange-face it gave me towards the end of the day. I’ve also heard complaints that this emphasizes any dry patches so it’s probably not well suited for those of you with dryer complexions, but I liked this enough that I may just try this in a lighter shade to see if I can’t make it work for me.

Leave a Reply

