Mascara Series Part 32: L’Oreal Telescopic Explosion Mascara Review & Photos

October 1, 2009
L’Oreal Telescopic Explosion Mascara
(officially available in November for $9.49)

The Claim: L’Oreal introduces new Telescopic Explosion Mascara to lengthen, thicken and separate 100% of lashes, even hard-to-reach corner lashes! The patented Flexi-Globe Brush applies from every angle for a spectacularly fanned-out look.

The Packaging: For some reason I just wasn’t too fond of the packaging on this one. Yes I get that it’s cleverly designed to look like a telescope and the black and red are certainly eye-catching, but something about this just says “ugly” to me, but that’s just my opinion.


The Brush: Oh the brush – I know this is what you’ve all been waiting to hear about. I’d say Telescopic Explosion’s applicator is pretty darn similar to the one on Givenchy’s Phenomen’eyes, with the exception being that L’Oreal’s looks a bit malnourished in comparison. So that causes this malnourished appearance? Well L’Oreal’s Telescopic Explosion wand has some nice length to it in comparison to Phenomen’eyes’, and the “ball” on Telescopic Explosion is a little more ovular than Phenomen’eyes, which is a true sphere.

Performance-wise they’re very similar though ~ I still loved the fact that I could reach every last lash in the inner and outer corners of my eyes and easily coat my lower lashes, and I still hated the fact that the ball wand seemed prone to push my lashes together causing the single mega-lash look.


Hear my thoughts on the formula and see some photos of me wearing Telescopic Explosion after the jump!

The Formula: So the formula is where Telescopic Explosion really diverges from Phenomen’eyes (both the original and the Effet Extension) . The original Phenomen’eyes was too wet and Effet Extension wasn’t quite dramatic enough, but Telescopic Explosion’s formula is actually well…good. It’s not great, but it’s really quite solid. It provides some decent length and definition with just one coat which I appreciate since Effet Extension really didn’t look like much of anything after just a single coat.

What I love most about this formula is the natural lift it provides for your lashes. It really doesn’t hold a curl well at all, but I don’t feel the need to curl as the shape of the applicator coupled with the formula really give your lashes an uplifted look even without curling. I experience little to no flaking or smudging, and while the formula does clump a little after multiple coats, it’s nothing I can’t work with.


Usage Tips: Layer this under a coat or two of CoverGirl’s new LashBlast Length mascara a lush fan of fluttery soft lashes that have fabulous natural lift and amazing length.

The Verdict:
At 1/3 of the price of Givenchy’s Phenomen’eyes and with (dare I say it) a better formula as well, I’d say try this if you’ve been dying to get your hands on Phenomen’eyes but just haven’t been able to stomach the price. It’s not a fantastic mascara by any means but it is quite good and I can almost guarantee that it’ll kill your Phenomen’eyes lemming in one form or another!

PACKAGING: 2.5/5
USER-FRIENDLINESS: 3.5/5
VALUE: 5/5
PRODUCT: 4/5

OVERALL: 3.75/5

Leave a Reply

