Perfecting Pink: Urban Decay Lipsticks in Naked & Lovechild Review + Swatches

September 14, 2009
Urban Decay Lipstick ($22)
Leaving no shade unturned, our huge assortment of colors and textures tempt you to stray from an otherwise predicable palette. The luxuriously creamy formula nourishes and protects lips with Vitamins A, C, and E. Hyaluronic Spheres (found naturally in the body) are added to stimulate cellular function, prevent dehydration, and fill-in lines and wrinkles—now, how many Lipsticks can do that?! The teardrop-shape bullet (etched with an Urban Decay logo) is infused with a decadent crème caramel scent and flavor. Yum.

I’m on a perpetual hunt for that perfect shade of nude pink – that holy grail “my lips but better” shade that will give my lips the subtle enhancement they need without screaming “I’m wearing lipstick!” to the world. Well I’d say search over (or at least temporarily halted) thanks to Urban Decay’s wonderful lipsticks which I’ve waited way too long to try!

Lovechild on top, Naked on the bottom.

The packaging on Urban Decay’s lipsticks is unique, stunning, and difficult not to love. I know there are those of you that dislike the impracticality of having to pull out your lipstick by a tiny little not-so-finger-friendly spear, but I for one couldn’t care less – I’m all about the pretty!

Close-up of the etching on the Urban Decay lipsticks (Lovechild on top, Naked on the bottom).

These wonderfully creamy, glossy, hydrating lipsticks also have the Urban Decay logo etched onto the sides of the lipsticks, a small touch that again brings on that warm fuzzy happy feeling.

Close-up of the mini gunmetal dagger pull.

But of course a lipstick is nothing if its formula is rubbish ~ and thankfully Urban Decay’s is rather wonderful! Naked and Lovechild both impart a beautifully glossy sheen to the lips while leaving them sheathed in wonderfully hydrating color.

The one negative that I’ve been hearing a lot about this formula is the scent/flavor. The Urban Decay lippies have a very distinct caramel flavor which I actually quite enjoy, but I know there are others out there who just can’t get over the intensity of it, so this may be one of those products you definitely want to sniff/test before buying.


Swatches: Naked (left), Lovechild (right)

So of course, onto the colors! Naked is a full-coverage nude pink that has been touted by so many as their HG my lips but better shade, and I’d have to say it gets pretty close to that status for me as well. My lips bring out a little more of the nude than the pink in Naked, but all in all it’s a shade that succeeds in subtly enhancing my natural lip shade.

Lip Swatch of Naked.

Lovechild is a semi-sheer light cool pink shade that, compared to Naked, has more of a milky mauvey tinge to it. I happen to absolutely adore this shade on my lips. It’s a little lighter than my natural lip color but super-flattering nonetheless and really give my lips the illusion of lushness/plumpness that I’d be crazy not to love!

Lip Swatch of Lovechild.

The Verdict: Urban Decay’s Lipsticks are really rather reasonable at $22, especially consdering how wonderful their formula is. Two things to keep in mind are that it’s rather strongly scented of caramel so if you’re not into scented products, this may be a no-no for you, and also that it is a glossy/creamy formula, meaning that this isn’t going to be nearly as long-wearing as other lipsticks you may have. I definitely plan to check out many many more of the Urban Decay lipstick shades, and thanks to Elaine for sending these two to me!

Leave a Reply

