Matte Berries & Canaries Konadicure & Matte Zoya Zara

September 11, 2009


I know you’ve seen about a million variations on this Konadicure using Sally Hansen’s Insta-Dri Polish in Whirlwind White as a base with my Konad m60 plate, but I swear this one actually looked quite different in person! The overlaid pattern was created using OPI’s Ate Berries In The Canaries, and then I topped it all off with a coat of Essie’s Matte About You to eliminate the shine and create a satiny finish.


I’m by no means a manicurist and I know the edges/cuticles look horribly messy, but bear with me! I thought that this was actually quite beautiful in person, and the matteness definitely lent a new element to the whole look. I don’t plan to be wearing thi smuch longer though – tomorrow I’m whipping out Chanel’s hot new Le Vernis Nail Colour in Jade Rose, which I predict will be insanely popular in the coming weeks!


I also attempted to mattify Zoya’s Zara polish, and while it definitely did look somewhat satiny/matte in person, it definitely wasn’t as matte as I had expected thanks to the multitude of golden shimmer this polish contains. The matte top coat created more of a semi-opaque glaze atop the polish, muting it. Still pretty though!

What nail colors have you been experimenting with lately?

Leave a Reply

