MAC Make-Up Art Cosmetics Mini Haul w/ Reviews & Swatches!

August 26, 2009


I’ve been attempting to stay as far away from MAC as I can get, as every time I step foot in a MAC store I seem to walk away with a bunch of things I hadn’t intended to buy, but last night I decided to indulge in a little MAC-therapy, mostly because I really wanted to check out the MAC Make-Art Cosmetics As Seen By Maira Kalman collection. I really loved how whimsical and fun all her shades were!


I came home with Crest the Wave eyeshadow (a shimmery yellow the color of sunshine) and Colour Matter Technakohl liner (a bright lime shade that’s already sold out online and pretty much sold out in stores as well) from the As Seen by Maira Kalman line and a lipglass in Peresonal Taste (a dirty pinky rose with pink and gold shimmer – heavy on the shimmer) from the As Seen by Richard Phillips collection.

Review, swatches, and close-ups of everything below!


I’ve been looking for that perfect yellow for a long time, and hopefully I’ve found it in Crest the Wave. It has a beautiful satiny texture, nice pigmentation and shimmer, and really brightens my eye area.

Close-up of Crest the Wave in the pan (this one I definitely recommend clicking to enlarge – it’s beautiful up close!).


This is my first MAC Technakohl Liner and definitely my first lime green eyeliner. They didn’t even have the tester of this out anymore, but I decided to give it a shot since this was one of the last two Colour Matters my MAC store had and my SA promised I’d love it. I wasn’t fully expecting to like it, nor was I expecting it to be as wearable as it is. Who knew that lime green liner is actually pretty easy to pull off? It’s not fluorescent/super bright but rather gives the eyes a nice bright yet not too crazy pop of color. Love this for my waterline.

Close-up of Technakohl Liner in Colour Matters.


I had absolutely no intention of picking up anything else, but then I had a sudden urge to purchase a gloss, which is how this happened =X. Not that I’m complaining, since Personal Taste is different enough from the other glosses I own that I can justify the purchase. It’s a soft rose shade interspersed with copious shimmer that’s beautiful on its own for a soft shimmery lip (it’s a little paler than my natural lip color so tones everything down a bit) or over a pink lipstick for an extra burst of shimmer. Regardless of how you choose to use this shade, under the right lighting the multi-dimensional shimmer will really captivate you.

Swatches: Crest the Wave (top left), Colour Matters (top right), Personal Taste (bottom)

Have you picked up anything from the trio of MAC Make-Up Art Cosmetics releases?

Leave a Reply

