TEMPTU AIR pod™ Foundation Review & Swatches + Before & After Photos!

August 19, 2009

Welcome to Day 2 of the TEMPTU-athon! As promised, you’ll be getting more TEMPTU information than you ever thought you needed or wanted. Still coming at you are reviews of the TEMPTU RETOUCH products (meaning the foundation, blush and highlighter pens – woohoo!) and swatches of every single one of the twelve foundation shades currently available for the system.

TEMPTU AIR pod™ Foundation ($55 for 2 x 0.28 pods)

My biggest concern when purchasing the TEMPTU AIRbrush Makeup System (review HERE) wasn’t that I wouldn’t like the system itself, since TEMPTU is pretty well known for its airbrushing devices, but that I wouldn’t be crazy about the foundation. I’d say that I’m rather picky when it comes to my foundations and I expect quite a bit, so of course I was worried that TEMPTU wouldn’t deliver.

But I’m happy to admit that I was oh so wrong, the foundation formula is darn near perfect! This foundation was formulated to provide a flawless, soft-focus finish; it contains a smoothing complex to help minimize the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, color-correcting pigments to camoflauge imperfections, and moisturizers to hydrate the skin.

The airbrushing system evenly mists a super fine layer of foundation particles across the surface of your skin, and once the foundation settles there it dries rather quickly (unlike my SK-II Air Touch which took forever to dry!) to a dewy finish. So you’re thinking dewy = terrible for oily skin, right? Wrong! I avoid dewy-finishes like the plague because usually it’s just asking for trouble (hello oil-slick on my t-zone!), but TEMPTU’s foundation, set with just the smallest amount of their RETOUCH Powder literally lasts all day and night on me, which just astounds me. I’ve experimented with wearing the foundation with primer, without primer, with different moisturizers underneath, with and without powder, and the result is always an extraordinarily long-wearing finish.

Plus the foundation really doesn’t settle into any lines you might have. One issues that has always plagued me is how my foundations would settle into the crease connecting my nose to my face (no matter how good the foundation, it can’t help but slide around on my face towards the end of the day), but this has never once happened with the TEMPTU.

So you know I don’t do the before/after photos, and these aren’t the best, but they were demanded! =D

Before (gross ruddy skin w/ some breakouts)

After TEMPTU foundation in Shade 003 Warm Ivory

And with a tiny bit of TEMPTU blush in Washed Rose on top.

I like to tell my friends that TEMPTU’s foundation seems to form this tightly-knit network of foundation particles that stretch across my skin and adhere like crazy without being irritating in the slightest – I feel as though i’m not wearing any foundation at all and my skin never develops those unpleasant hives some other foundations give me at the end of the day. The airbrushed finish is natural enough that you’ll never suffer from “two-tone face/neck syndrome” ever again and seriously I just love it so much.

For someone whose skin is as oily as mine, it’s nothing short of a miracle that I can go out on a day when it’s 100+ degrees and ridiculously humid without piling on the powder and have my makeup look better than it ever has at the end of the day.

RELATED POSTS:

Can’t get enough TEMPTU?

  • See my review of the TEMPTU AIRbrush Makeup System HERE.
  • Plus I’ve reviewed and swatched TEMPTU’s blush and highlighter pods for you HERE.
  • And be sure to check back in the coming days for reviews of TEMPTU’s RETOUCH products and swatches of all the available foundation shades!
Leave a Reply

