Illamasqua Powder Blusher Swatches & Mini Review

August 17, 2009

Like I mentioned in the last post, the quality on these isn’t good at all – the blushes are amazingly vibrant and pigmented in real life and these swatches don’t do them justice, but I figured these could at least help you get an idea of what shades you might like or dislike.

  • Thrust is a bright magenta.
  • Tweak is described as a reddish pink, and to me it’s that perfect fall apple/watermelony shade that’s so flattering on so many.
  • Chased is a gorgeous lilac pink shade that has some mauve to it. One of my favorites!
  • Katie is a very pale milky pink (the palest of all the blushes) that looks to be a hot seller. Currently sold out on Sephora.com.
  • Unrequited is an amazing baby pink that gives you that barely-flushed look. Better suited for lighter skintones and another favorite of mine.
  • Tremble is Katie’s warmer pink sister – yet another favorite of mine LOL. What can I say, these are beautiful!

  • Lover is a vibrant apricot (it’s much much brighter than it appears in this photo and not really for the faint of heart).
  • Hussy is again brighter than it appear to be in this photo, and it’s this beautiful bright petal pink and another favorite blush of mine. I’d love to get my hands on this one (and Chased, Unrequited & Tremble!).
  • Excite is described as a vibrant coral, and to be honest kind of scared me in person as it looked bright orange. This isn’t something I think I’d be able to pull off – ever!
  • Expose is a soft peach, although it’s not the kind of peach you’re thinking of. This is a true peach and matte meaning it’s got a little orange to it.
  • Panic is a bright cherry red and something I’d go for if I did red blush. I love how clear and clean this shade looks.

I was seriously shocked by just how amazing these blushes felt under my fingers. The Powder Blushers all have matte finishes and I was worried about chalkiness, but these are super super pigmented and silky smooth. They glide on like a dream and, while a little pricey, seem to be well worth the $23 they cost. I’ll definitely be adding a few to my collection, meaning you’ll be getting better swatches of at least a few shades at some point!

Leave a Reply

