Illamasqua Nail Varnish Swatches in Baptiste, Jan & Phallic w/ Mini Review

August 17, 2009


So I’ve got some Illamasqua swatches coming for you, but please be forewarned that the photo quality/lighting is pretty terrible due to the fact that these were taken with my old Olympus – meaning these really aren’t up to my usual standards, so you’ll have to forgive me! But as Nicole pointed out, since Illamasqua isn’t available in that many Sephora stores, mediocre swatches are better than none at all!

I’m currently wearing 10 diferent Illamasqua Nail Varnish shades on each of my fingers – I love their polishes so much! These were applied over the chipping Lament manicure I’d given mysel some time back, so it’s just one coat over that fluorescent shade – this should give you an idea of how amazingly opaque this polish formula is.

Oh and you’ll also have to excuse the messiness – these were quick and dirty swatches done at Sephora!

  • Phallic is an amazing shade of midnight blue with blue shimmer. It’s everything I wanted Chanel’s Blue Satin to be and more, it’s got such depth and dimension to it, even with only one coat!
  • Jan is a fleshy pink with gray/lavender undertones and officially my new favorite neutral polish. It makes my hands look amazingly polishes and just looking at the shade makes me feel like I’ve got my act together. It’s perfection!
  • Baptiste is another stunner – a deep royal purple with purple shimmer. Like Phallic, it’s got amazing depth to it and is really gorgeous under direct light.


I’ve already reviewed Lament, which is a gorgeous neon corally pink shade – click the Illamasqua label below and it should pop up. A few other shades I loved are DWS (the perfect cement gray), Loella (not terribly unique but a fun sparkly bubble gum pink) and Grab (be warned that the swatch on Sephora’s site is horribly inaccurate – it’s more of a fuchsia/magenta shade with slight purple undertones).

Have you got your eye on any Illamasqua Nail Varnishes?

Leave a Reply

