Eye Cream Quest Part 6: CAUDALIE Pulpe Vitaminee 1st Wrinkle Eye Cream Review

August 14, 2009
CAUDALIE Pulpe Vitaminee 1st Wrinkle Eye and Lip Cream ($53 fr 0.5 oz)
Instantly reduces the visibility of fine lines and wrinkles, lightens dark circles, decongests puffiness, and protects from free radicals. Contour Cream Eyes and Lips can be used around the lips for an exceptional anti-wrinkle effect. For all skin types. Adapted to contact-lens wearers.

The Good: CAUDALIE’s Pulpe Vitaminee 1st Wrinkle Eye and Lip Cream (previously known as Contour Cream Eyes and Lips, which came with a silver cap as opposed to the green one shown here) would be my eye cream of choice for those of you who are still relatively young and wrinkle-free and just looking for something to brighten and reduce pufiness. 1st Wrinkle makes an amazing first eye cream, and I found it to be great for reducing puffiness and relieving some undereye darkness.

I’ve been trying to be a little more conscious of the inner workins of my eye creams, so here’s a little more info on CAUDALIE’s 1st Wrinkle. The formula contains stabilized grape-seed polyphenols for anti-oxidant benefits, ceramdes 3 and tetrapeptides for anti-wrinkle purposes, horse chestnut and liquorice to help banish those pesky dark cirlces, witch hazel and fern to lift, plant glycerine to moisturize, and calendula to soothe your delicate under-eye area.

I love that this product has a gel/cream hybrid formula that is non-irritating and absorbs quickly while still feeling moisturizing. It’s one of the few eye creams I’ve tried to date that seems to fully absorb into my skin. Aonther great benefit is that you can apply this product around your lips to prevent the formation of fine lines and to keep your lipstick from bleeding.

The Bad: I honestly can’t find much wrong with this particular product. I really like the packaging and I appreciate that Caudalie has decided to go the eco-friendly route by eliminating paper inserts in their packaging and just printing the instructions/details on the interior of their boxes. Two cons that I can think of are: 1) for a first ‘beginner’ eye cream this is a little pricey, although I happen to think it’s worth it, and 2) it doesn’t do much for me in terms of plumping up the tiny lines that I feel like I see forming.

The Age Range: I’d say CAUDALIE’s Pulpe VItaminee 1st Winkle Eye and Lip Cream is best suited for younger people experiencing the first signs of ageing, so from teens to late twenties/early thirties. If you’ve already got some fine lines cropping up, I’ve got other suggestions for you!


The Verdict: If you suffer from dark circles and puffines, or you’re just looking to start maintaining the area under your eyes, it’s hard to go wrong with CAUDALIE’s 1st Wrinkle Eye Cream. It’s moderately priced as far as luxury eye creams go and I happen to really enjoy using it!

RATING: 4/5

Leave a Reply

