How Do You Apply Your Eye Cream?

August 13, 2009

I don’t know about you, but when I’m going through my skincare routine every morning and evening, I often wonder if I’m applying my products correctly. That’s not to say that I don’t know how to apply moisturizer to my face, but when it comes to the more delicate parts of my face such as the undereye area, which is notorious for its thin, crepey, wrinkle-prone skin, my curiosity abounds. I’m sure that there’s no one “right” way to apply eye cream, but a little guidance is always appreciate – I’ll debate whether to apply from the outer corners inwards, or the inner corners outwards.

Well is seems that Caudalie has heard my cries for help – look what I found on the inside of my box of Caudalie Contour Cream Eyes and Lips (which I’ll be reviewing for you soon)!


I love this little illustrated guide that they have printed on the interior portion of their boxes. Their steps seem to be:

  • Pat gently on the under eye area, working from the inner corners outwards.
  • Repeat for the upper eyelid area, again working from the inner part of your eye outwards, following the contour of your eye.
  • Apply in a gentle circular motion along the outer corners of your eyes to smooth the appearance of lines.

Which brings me to my question: What method do you implement in applying your eye cream? Are you an in to out or an out to in? Do you tap or glide? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

