ABS’ Thoughts on the Sephora 5 Times Square Grand Opening (and Online Haul!)

August 1, 2009


Happy Saturday everyone! I’m sorry that I don’t have better photos to share with you from the opening of Sephora’s new 5 Times Square location, but Sephoras tend not to allow photography in-store and I like to respect that policy. But well a Sephora is a Sephora – this one just happened to have TEMPTU airbrushing stations and a great Illamasqua display (w/ fab British makeup artists) inside!

To be honest I was a little shocked by how small this one looked from the outside, but like my favorite television Dr.’s telephone booth, this is actually lot bigger on the inside than it might appear from the outside (I hope some of you get this reference LOL!).


In the photo above you can check out the itty bitty sliver of a building that is Ssephora. So inside there were of course makeovers galore going on. I myself stopped by the Temptu station (you can see a tiny portion of it if you enlarge the photo below) to check out this new gadget and to have my foundation and blush airbrushed on, and I’m so glad I did. The weather was disgustingly humid yesterday so having a cool breeze of foundation misted across my face was just so incredibly refreshing.


I then stopped by the Illamasqua counter and had this gorgeous artist (almost named Jennifer) try out some of their eyeshadows, glosses, liner, and brow cake on me. Needless to say I left looking much better than I had going in! Sadly yesterday was a ridiculously hectic day at work for me and I had no time to take makeup shots =X.


All in all I had fun even though I didn’t get to pick up the grand-opening silver tote that you got with the purchase of any item. There were quite literally at least 60-70 people in line in front of me and I had lunch reservations that I was already late for so I had to run. I did pick up the mini Sephora fan you can see the woman in the photo above holding – they were handing them out on the street!

AND, best of all, inspired by my little day of makeovers at the new 5 Times Square Square location, I placed a MASSIVE Sephora order last night full of goodies I just know you’re all going to love hearing about. And here it is!

  • TEMPTU TEMPTU® AIRbrush Makeup System – TEMPTU® AIRbrush Makeup System
  • TEMPTU AIR pod™ Foundation – 003 Warm Ivory
  • TEMPTU AIR pod™ Blush – 403 Washed Rose
  • TEMPTU AIR pod™ Highlighter – 301 Champagne
  • Illamasqua Nail Varnish – Lament
  • Illamasqua Intense Lipgoss – Indulge
  • Lancome HYPNÔSE DRAMA Instant Full Body Volume Mascara – Excessive Black
  • Urban Decay Complexion Primer Potion – Brightening
  • Givenchy Phenomen’Eyes Effet Extension – 1 Extension Black
  • Urban Decay Liquid Liner – Smog

I can’t wait to receive everything on this list so that I can review it or you!

Leave a Reply

