Eye Cream Quest Part 5: La Mer The Eye Concentrate Review

July 29, 2009
La Mer The Eye Concentrate ($165 of 0.5 oz.)
A recipient of The 2009 Genius Makeup Award in Elle Magazine, this concentrated, ultraluxe eye treatment quenches and conditions impressionable skin. Significantly reduces the appearance of dark circles and puffiness, lines and wrinkles, encouraging the eye area to look and feel healthy, supple and luminous as never before. Infused with three unique forms of Miracle Broth: the original, a concentrated form and a new, encapsulated form designed to optimize continuous release to the skin.Works in tandem with a specially-engineered, silver-tipped applicator which helps cool the skin, immediately improving micro-circulation.


The Good:
La Mer’s ‘The Eye Concentrate’ is one of my favorite eye creams to use for a plethora of reasons. It’s tightens, brightens, de-puffs, and overall just feels great going on. It’s one of the lightest eye creams that I’ve used to date, yet it’s moisturizing enough for me (and for my mother’s dry under-eyes). Because it’s so light and silky (never greasy!) it feels great going on, and the silver-tipped applicator lends a great cooling sensation to the overall experience. I definitely feel that massaging with the applicator boosts the circulation in my under-eye area, and my eyes love this stuff. The Eye Concentrate is great for those of you who suffer from crepey, delicate under-eye skin prone to puffiness and dark circles. And of course applicator that it comes with works great with any and all eye creams!

The Bad:
I’ll admit it – this stuff is expensive. Which is why I was delighted when La Mer released this holiday version that came with a cute little pedestal to hold the Concentrate and applicator! But this is one of those products that you like so that that it’s almost worth the price, especially since, in my opinion, the under-eye area is one of the toughest areas of the face to properly maintain.

The Age Range:
I’d say this is appropriate for a wide range of ages, anywhere from mid 20’s onwards and upwards. My mother is in her 50’s and swears by this stuff during all but the coldest of days, and there isn’t a wrinkle to be seen on her flawless skin. I seriously think that my skin looks older than hers does!


The Verdict: I happen to love this eye cream but tend to feel guilty using it because of the price and the fact that, while it’s good, it’s not a miracle worker. Not that that’s going to stop me from repurchasing in the future, as I love how refreshed my eyes look and feel after using this!

RATING: 4.5/5

One Response to “Eye Cream Quest Part 5: La Mer The Eye Concentrate Review”

  1. *Jen* Says:

    Sky sounds like quite a few people have had that reaction! I've definitely had reactions to an eye cream or two – it's so interesting how different people react differently to different products.


Leave a Reply

