Bare Escentuals Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Stick + Lip Shot

July 28, 2009
Bare Escentuals Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Stick ($18)
Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Stick works three full-time jobs—it defines the shape of lips like a liner, fills them in with creamy velvet color, and then plumps them to their full buxom potential. It’s a three-in-one lipstick that’s quick and convenient for defined, colorful, buxom lips anytime, anywhere.

Swatches (left to right): Brooklyn, Las Vegas, Monte Carlo

After having viewed this online I figured Bare Escentuals’ Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Stick would be an emaciated looking skinny little thing, so imagine my surprise when I was greeted by the sight of this big, fat, pencil the size of a small Sharpie! Sadly my Sephora only had these three shades in stock, but other than Milan these look to be the prettiest of the bunch so I guess I’ll survive.

  • Brooklyn is a harvest fig shade – a mauvey berry color with slight brown undertones. Not my usual type of shade and probably not something I’d purchase.
  • Las Vegas is my favorite of the bunch – a vibrant, milky medium pink that’s totally me.
  • Monte Carlo is a bright, hot magenta that’s much brighter than the lippies I’d usually go for, but the shade has such a beautiful clearness to it, if that makes any sense, that I actually found myself drawn to it. A seriously gorgeous hot pink!

Lip Swatch of Las Vegas

So the verdict? I’m absolutely loving these BE Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Sticks – they’re like fun, creamy crayons for your lips! They’re pigmented, long-lasting and provide some gorgeous color pay-off, plus they also create this fun minty/tingling sensation (I guess that’s the plumping part) on your lips akin to that of BE’s Buxom Glosses. The Big & Healthy pencils are semi-matte since they are meant to be usable as both lipstick and lipliner, so they’re gorgeous either worn on their own or coupled with a glossy lipstick or a gloss. The retractable pencil packaging makes these easy to travel with and great for touch-ups, and I’m thinking Las Vegas would make a great addition to my lippie collection!

Have you tried BE’s Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Sticks for yourself? Any thoughts?
2 Responses to “Bare Escentuals Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Stick + Lip Shot”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Today I bought Barcelona and Monte Carlo. First, I don't like Bare E. anything! These caught my eye due to the slim shape…not only are the colors SO intense, they last a few hours, feel good, do not bleed, and do not require liner or gloss. Best product I've bought in years. The type of colors that make you not wear any other makeup – just the lips alone look amazing. Can't say enough great things about them.

  2. *Jen* Says:

    Hey Anonymous,Aren't these pencils just so handy and really beautiful? I was shocked by the intensity but love it so much and they really do stay put amazingly well. So glad you hear you love them too!


Leave a Reply

