Lancome ‘Declaring Indigo’ Nordstrom Exclusive 5-Piece Brush Set Photos Galore (& Review)!

July 21, 2009
Lancome Declaring Indigo Brush Set ($52)

I’ve been told that I’m quite possibly one of the most annoying people in the world to shop with: I’m indecisive, I second-guess every decision and I basically have to contemplate each purchase or a good hour or two beore I can make a final decision. But this Nordstrom-exclusive Lancome Declaring Indigo Brush Set was one purchase decision that I made in minutes and I haven’t looked back since! I’m generally not a bluesy kinda person, but the rich, deep indigo of these brushes is truly stunning and a crowd-pleaser for sure, judging by the rate at which these sets were selling. Check out my small Norstrom Beauty Exclusives haul HERE!


I bought this set primarily for the Mineral Powder Foundation Brush, a plush, dense, velvety soft brush that picks up powders beautifully. I’ve been in desperate need of a powder brush for the longest time, and that gave me just the excuse I needed to indulge in this set.


I’m generally not a fan of these types o oundation brushes as I tend to go for the stipplers or the shorter, denser ones like the Shu brush I previously reviewed, but Lancome’s Foundation Brush #2 was a pleasant surprise. It’s super soft, of course, yet it applies foundation beautifully thanks to the fact that it has some give without being too flexible. It’s that perfect blend of firm yet yielding that enables streak free foundation application.


So to be honest this Blender Brush #4 is a bit of an enigma to me. It’s really oddly sized, as in it’s pretty massive to be used as an eye brush, but really small for a face brush. Lancome says that this is great for blending face and blush powders or eyeshadows meaning it can be used for both face and eyes, but it seems to be ill-suited for both. I’m probably going to reserve this to use or highlighting my cheek/brow bones and the like.


And the fourth brush in this set is double ended. At one end we have a flat, fine-edged brush for lining the eyes.


And on the the other end we have a nice all-purpoe eyeshadow brush, although it looks more like a concealer brush to me.


I took a little family photo so that you can get a relatively good idea of the sizes of these brushes in relation to each other. The blender brush is the one facing the bottom let corner — see what I mean about its odd size? How would you use that on your eye?!

My minor quibbles aside, the Declaring Indigo brush set is one of the best purchases I’ve made all year and definitely a set that I hope to treasure for years to come. The brushes not only have a gorgeous blue hue, but they’re well-constructed, incredibly soft and plush feeling against the skin, and a seriously great value at only $52!

Leave a Reply

