Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation SPF 15 Review & Swatches

June 29, 2009
Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation SPF 15 in #1 Warm Ivory ($45)
A truly modern foundation: Skin Foundation SPF 15 offers invisible, weightless coverage that looks like skin, not makeup. This long-wearing formula evens tone, minimizes the appearance of pores, conceals imperfections, and offers broad spectrum UV protection. Its hydrating technology leaves skin feeling cushioned, comfortable, and clean.


I know that Bobbi Brown’s Skin Foundation is recommended for normal to dry skin, but I couln’t resist purchasing this for my dry yet oily complexion as I’d been hearing such good things about it. BB’s Skin Foundation is an ultra-light water-based formula that hydrates our complexion, providing buildable coverage while leaving behind a nice dewy glow.


As the name indicates, Skin Foundation is supposed to mimic the appearance of healthy, radiant skin, but I was understandably skeptical since it’s pretty rare that a foundation can really mimic the look of natural, bare skin. And is Bobbi Brown successful?


I’d have to say yes. The first time I applied this stuff I was amazed by how well it blended and how the formula just disappeared into my skin while still providing coverage. After hearing some griping about Skin Foundation’s lack of coverage I was expecting super super sheer coverage, but in actuality you can build anywhere from light to medium coverage and that’s enough for me on most days.

A blob of Skin Foundation in shade #1 Warm Ivory.

The somewhat runny formula slides on really easily, feeling really comfortable against my skin, and I’d have to say it looks pretty great on too. Immediately following application my complexion looks naturally dewy and polished while still looking like my skin (not some cakey, scary mess)–it just looks like I’ve naturally got nice skin! Skin Foundation skims over pores, tones down redness, and just gives skin an overall freshened appearance.

Half-blended.

Shade #1 Warm Ivory blends beautifully into my MAC NW 15-20ish complexion, but sadly this foundation isn’t perfect. I love so many things about it, but the lasting power really just doesn’t cut it for me, although I can’t blame the foundation since this is meant to be hydrating and I have oily skin. After 2-3 hours, Bobbi Brown’s foundation will start sliding around on m T-zone and it’s all downhill from there. I can salvage my makeup by blotting with powder ever 2 hours or so, but honestly who has the time!

All blended and dewy!

Don’t get me wrong though–while I’m having a little trouble dealing with Skin Foundation’s lack of staying power, I happen to love this stuff! I fully intend to get through my bottle, although I just might save some of it for winter when my skin is dryer and definitely could use the additional moisture. If you veer towards the normal/dry end of the skin spectrum, this might be a really nice option for you since other than the sliding-off-my-face aspect of it, I really couldn’t find much else wrong with Skin Foundation. The color stays true all day and it makes my skin look naturally beautiful–it’s not necessarily perfect for me but it could be for you!


List of ingredients in case you’re curious 🙂
Leave a Reply

