Kanebo Sensai Silky Highlighting Powder Review & Swatches

June 1, 2009
Kanebo Sensai Silky Highlighting Powder ($45)
Light, pearly powder complements and enhances foundations with a subtle, youthful glow. Instantly adds natural-looking highlights. Apply over foundation to desired areas.


Sensai’s Silky Highlighting Powder is formulated with Silky Pearl Powder to complement your foundation (or bare skin if you’re lucky enough to not need foundation) by adding an invisible and natural brightening boost. It contains a high concentration of silk to create a radiant, silky-smooth complexion and contains Sensai’s revolutionary Weightless Moist Glow Factor, an exquistely deather-light and translucent powder that provides lightweight coverage to give your skin a luminous glow. The Silky Highlighting Powder also contains Phyto-Qualane and Rice Extract, two highly moisturizing natural ingredients.


It’s taken me some time to realize the benefits of a good highlighting powder. I’ve never really been too into the liquid luminizers as they make my already oily skin look and feel even oilier, but the warmer weather has had me wanting to emphasize those areas of my face where light hits naturally, such as the cheekbones, forehead and nose, and Sensai’s Highlighting Powder is seriously the best I’ve tried.


While I love my shimmer, I don’t love a highlighting powder that has large chunks of glitter in it as I think it can be overkill and create a not-too-flattering disco-ball appearance. Sensai’s powder is unique in that it doesn’t actually look shimmery in the pan–it’s more of a subtle, luminescent glow that’s uber-flattering on everybody.


The texture, as with all Sensai products, is gorgeous–silky, smooth, blends beautifully, and just overall great. Plus the brush that it comes with is also nice and soft, making for easy, precise application.


There’s just something so beautiful about the sun reflecting off the contours of your face just so, highlighting your cheekbones and creating a subtle glow, and Sensai allows you to carry that with you in a petite black compact. It’s like instant sunshine!



LOL okay I just lost my train of thought–as I’m typing this, my sweet little Chloe just started snoring away. Where was I? I guess this is one of the hazards of late night blogging–well along with the fact that I’m really tired =X. But as I was saying, if you’re on the hunt for a subtle highlighter that’ll give you that “look-at-my-great-bone-structure” look, definitely check this out!

Leave a Reply

