Dior Addict Lip Glow Color Awakening Lipbalm Review & Swatches

May 22, 2009
Dior Addict Lip Glow Color Awakening Lipbalm SPF 10 ($28)


Dior’s new Lip Glow Color Awakening Balm enhances and embellishes the natural color of the lips, using its Color Reviver technology to create a customized color result. The Dior Addict Lip Glow reacts directly with the unique chemistry of each woman’s lips before releasing its color ingredient, giving lips a revived, radiant, full look.


The formula is enriched with wild mango and luffa cylindirca, cushioning lips in comfort. Dior’s Lip Glow moisturizes, smooths, and softens the lips while protecting them from environmental damage with SPF 10.


What I Love: Well I absolutely adore the packaging–the classic Dior lipstick tube done in the sweetest baby pink. The balm itself matches the exterior in shade-it’s a slightly translucent light pink that goes on essentially colorless and then ripens into a customized shade on pink on your lips. The formula is long-lasting, moisturizing, and protects your lips from the elements, things that we could all use a little more of. Plus the balm has a nice, lightly minty flavor/scent to it that’s really refreshing, and the mintiness also seems to provide some plumping action for fuller, poutier lips.


Not So Much: Well the price for one–$28 is a bit steep for what’s in essence a nicely packaged $3 mood lipstick. But that having been said, the product is great as a light lip treatment and really does deliver on its promises. I’m also not entirely crazy about the particular shade of this turns on me–somewhat of a deepish berry pink, whereas I was hoping for more of a soft pink. On others I’ve seen this develop into exactly the soft pink that I wanted, but on me it teeters on the brink of being a little too close to red for my liking. I do love the way that it looks in the swatch on my hand though.

Hand Swatch of Addict Lip Glow

Lip Swatch of Addict Lip Glow

Final Thoughts: While I’m not 100% crazy about this, I do love the glossy finish this gives my lips, with the added benefits of moisturization and SPF protection. Oh and of course the slightly fuller look this gives my lips is another bonus. I don’t think I’d repurchase, but I’ll happily use up the tube that I have!

RATING: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

