Jill Stuart Loose Powder in 03 Sparkle Review & Swatches

May 13, 2009
Jill Stuart Loose Powder
($53.03 from Bobodave–which in case you’re wondering is only a few dollars more than I paid for this from Japan)

While I love all the products my friend Cathy hauled for me in Japan (check them all out HERE), I’d have to say that Jill Stuart’s Loose Powder in shade 03 Sparkle is amongst of my favorites. Although I’m still obsessed with my Fairy Drop Mascara (review HERE) so this powder definitely has some competition.


I’ll be the first to admit that I would’ve have given Jill Stuart cosmetics a second glance were it not for the packaging–the feminine, princessy packaging that just screams “BUY ME!!!” I honestly wasn’t expecting too much from the actual powder itself, but surprisingly it’s rather great and completely gorgeous.


All Jill Stuart products have this deliciously subtle fruity scent (including her Jelly Eye Color that I reviewed HERE), and the loose powder is no exception.


The powder itself is super finely milled, enough so that the texture reminds me of my much loved La Mer Loose Powder (review HERE), which is saying a lot. Since the shade I have is called Sparkle, it does contain a high dose of shimmer, but I can’t speak for the other three shades that this is available in. Sparkle is a soft pink shade with light shimmer interspersed throughout and with a few larger chunks of glitter here and there. The shade itself reminds me a bit of Caron’s Venitienne powder (review HERE), which I also love.

Swatch of Sparkle

What I absolutely love about the Jill Stuart Loose Powder in Sparkle is that it lightens and brightens my whole complexion, giving it the flawless, luminous, finished look that I’m always trying to achieve. I’d always heard that soft pink powders really help to brighten your complexion, but while I’ve tried many of them, none have ever been this successful. Truly a gorgeous powder! As for mattifying properties, this actually keeps me matter than many other powders I’ve tried, giving me a good four hours or so of matteness before the oilies start to appear (and this is saying a lot since my skin is super super oily).

All blended in!

Applied with a light hand this powder is gorgeous, giving your skin a luminosity without too much shimmer, but it’s definitel not for the shimmer haters out there as Sparkle, as its name indicates, does contain a healthy does of sparkle. And for those of you hesitating on the price, think of how pretty this powder will look sitting on your vanity. I definitely plan to refill mine with another powder once it’s empty!

RATING: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

