Guerlain Rouge G de Guerlain Jewel Lipstick Compact in Gabrielle (60) Review & Swatches

April 28, 2009
Rouge G de Guerlain Jewel Lipstick Compact ($45)
Guerlain Rouge G de Guerlain Jewel Lipstick Compact contains a ruby-powder formula that interacts with the light and creates a jaw-dropping pout of perfection. At first glaze, lips will be left defined, smoothed, plumped, and hydrated.

Tucked in a compact that marries beauty with high design, with one click, you will have a luminous lipstick and mirror at your fingertips. Designed by Lorenz Bäumer, the most talented jeweler from the Place Vendôme in Paris, it is the ultimate accessory of mystery and seduction.


Despite my protestations and claims that I wouldn’t purchase this $45 lipstick, I caved =X. What can I say, I’m weak! I was doing so well until I saw that for two days only, Bergdorf Goodman was offering custom-engraving with the purchase of any of the Rouge G lipsticks. Check out my engraving in the photo below!


Unfortunately the color selection kinda sucked and I wasn’t all that into most of the shades–they all veered towards either being too bright or too neutral, and there really just weren’t any of the usual pretty soft pinks that I naturally gravitate towards. I would’ve taken a stab at one of the brighter shades, but this lipstick is really creamy and pigmented and I just knew that I wouldn’t be comfortable.

I ended up with shade #60, which is a pretty pale shimmery pink with hints of peachiness to it, and I must say the shade, which had been the only one that had caught my eye when I’d checked the Rouge G’s out a few weeks back, really works for me. It’s a great everyday shade for a soft neutral lip and pairs amazingly well with a smoky eye.


The formula is really nice, although I’m still not 100% convinced that it’s $45 nice. The Rouge G’s are super creamy, beautifully pigmented, decently long-lasting, non-drying, and all-around really nice. And of course the packaging is pretty stunning in and of itself–the bullet-shaped tube opens to reveal a discrete mirror that’s perfect for touch-ups on-the-go.


The swatch above is a very accurate representation of what this shade looks like in person, but sadly I didn’t have nearly as much luck capturing Gabrielle on my lips. The pretty shimmer is absent, and you really can’t se too much of the pinkiness either.



Guerlain’s Rouge G has made me realize that I actually own very few creamy lipsticks, and I’ve definitely acquired a new appreciation for them. While my wallet is still hurting from the $45+ tax hit it took, I am loving this shade quite a bit and will probably be wearing it constantly while I’m in Korea. Now to get through airport security with this hunk of metal sitting in my pocket!

Leave a Reply

