Mascara Series Part 26: Fairy Drops Mascara Review & Photos

April 22, 2009
Fairy Drops Mascara ($13.90)

The Claim: FAIRY DROPS Mascara’s brush is particularly designed. Lumpy brush ensures perfect contact with every lash for volume, curly and no clump eyelash look. Water-proof formula works to resist water, sweat and sebum. Long-lasting wear is guaranteed.


The Brush: You have no idea how long my quest has been for this ‘lumpy’ Fairy Drops Mascara applicator. I lusted after this mascara for years before Sasa recently started carrying it, and then my friend ended up going to Japan so I just asked her to pick it up for me as part of this haul. I even resorted to trying Rimmel’s Sexy Curves Mascara (review HERE) in the hopes that it’d wow me, but I was sorely disappointed by it.

So the real Fairy Drops Mascara brush is a densely bristled, oddly shaped little thing that consists of three rounded segments. The inner two segments are like two round balls, and the outer segment has more of a ovular shape. You can really feel how densely placed the bristles are when you apply this mascara, and it may seem gimmicky but it really works for me! The shape really allows me to reach and capture every little lash, and the ovular outer portion is great for singling out those inner and outer lashes and for focusing on specific areas of the eye. I’m so happy to have finally found this!


The Formula: Japanese mascaras are always a love/hate thing for me. They tend to look fabulous on, give me wonderful curl, and last forever, but the fact that they’re virtually impossible to remove is a huge negative factor for me. So how does Fairy Drops stack up?

Well let’s see–the curl I get with this is just gorgeous. Once I’ve curled my lashes and applied this mascara, the curl isn’t going anywhere; you can wake up the next morning and your lashes will be just as curled as they were when you first applied Fairy Drops. The length and volume are above average but not amazing, although definitely buildable. Plus this mascara feels really light on–like you’re not wearing anything. And naturally this mascara doesn’t clump, smudge or flake–three major no-no’s for me!

But the true test of course is how hard is this stuff to remove? I won’t say that it’s easy, but it’s definitely MUCH less stubborn than my Majolica Majorca Lash Expander, which while gorgeous on, becomes the bane of my existence once it comes time to remove it (and it’s also a pain in the butt to apply). I can actually remove this that same night, whereas the MM stays on my lashes for days.

My lashes may look shorter than usual in this photo, but that’s only because of the curl.



The Verdict: I think I love this mascara! The packaging is super super cute and girly, the price is spot on, you can have it shipped to the US, it doesn’t smudge, clump or flake, and most importantly it holds a curl amazingly well and gives me beautiful, natural-looking fanned out lashes. To be honest though I think a large part of this mascara’s allure, at least to me, is pure cuteness though =X.

RATING: 4/5

Related Posts:

  • Check out the rest of the Mascara Series by clicking on the Mascara Series tab up on the menu bar!
Leave a Reply

