Bobbi Brown Moon Rock Long-Wear Eye Palette Review & Swatches

April 21, 2009
Bobbi Brown Moon Rock Long-Wear Eye Palette ($55)
This celestial-inspired palette includes two NEW and exclusive Long-Wear Cream Shadows–the warm Gold Drop and the steely Mineral Dust–to impart a pretty shimmer to lids, Long-Wear Gel Eyeliners in Espresso Ink and the NEW, exclusive Black Topaz to beautifully define eyes.

All of the formulas are silky, making the pigment a breeze to apply. Both formulas are long-wearing and water-resistant. Palette includes a dual-ended Mini Cream Shadow / Ultra Fine Eyeliner Brush for professional application.


I picked this up this past Saturday while shopping @ the CCO ~ it was such a gorgeous day that there was no way I was going to spend it cooped up indoors. There were a million other items that I was eyeing, but I figured this palette was the most practical buy for my upcoming trip to Korea, plus I liked the box! =P


The packaging consists of these little pop-up tabs that are supposed to form an air-tight seal, ensuring that your cream shadows and cream liners don’t dry out. Unfortunately these don’t work out too well in practice, as the lids don’t seem to fit quite right and they kind of pop open on their own. I’m perpetually worried that they’ll dry out!


But packaging aside this palette is pretty great! Inside we have Cream Shadows in Gold Drop (a pale shimmergy gold) and Mineral Dust (a gumental gray) and Long-Wear Gel Eyeliners in Espresso (a deep brown with no shimmer) and Black Topaz (a deep brown/black with gold and bronze glimmer).

Swatches (L to R):
Cream Shadows in Gold Drop and Mineral Dust; Gel Eyeliners in Espresso and Black Topaz

Bobbi Brown’s Cream Shadows are super super long-wearing and essentially crease-resistant (even on my super super oily eyelids which is saying quite a bit), which means they’re great as stand-alone shadows and also make fabulous bases. My one gripe with these particular shadows is that they’re both rather sheer, but I actually do like the sheerness for work, and the colors area definitely buildable/layerable, especially Mineral Dust.

Swatches (L to R):
Cream Shadows in Gold Drop and Mineral Dust; Gel Eyeliners in Espresso and Black Topaz

I know I’ve never reviewed them on the blog, but Bobbi Brown’s Long-Wear Gel Eyeliners are amongst my favorite eyeliners ever! They make lining your eyes manageable even for the most unpracticed neophyte, plus they’re long-wearing as the name indicates and super pigmented. Espresso is a nice deep brown but nothing all too unique–but Black Topaz is really special thanks to the shimmer interspersed throughout.

Close-ups of Gold Drop and Mineral Dust in the pots.

Close-ups of Espresso and Black Topaz in the pots.


This palette also comes with a double-ended liner/shadow brush, and the liner end actually comes with a cap making for no-mess travel. I already have Bobbi-Brown’s mini fine-tipped liner brush which is fabulous, so I’m always happy to have a spare. The shadow end, though, sucks. The shadows are sheer to begin with, and this brush’s inability to properly pick up and deposit color just makes matters worse.

A Quick EOTD Using Gold Drop & Black Topaz:

See I wasn’t kidding when I said sheer! I actually should’ve shown you a photo of Mineral Dust, though, which is gorgeous–it can be layered to this gorgeous smoky/shimmery gray.

This is pretty much all the eye makeup I’ll be taking with me to Korea as it’s quite versatile and portable. While the palette isn’t really spectacular, it’s definitely practical and I’ll be carrying it in my purse everyday for makeup emergencies!

Leave a Reply

