Chanel Joues Contraste Powder Blush in Narcisse Review & Swatches

April 20, 2009
Chanel Joues Contraste Powder Blush in Narcisse ($42)

What It Is: Unique powder blusher imparts a flattering radiance to cheeks. Remarkably silky texture for easy application and subtle shading. Accentuate cheekbones for a youthful look. Softer tones around the eyes soften expression and rejuvenate.


What I Love: When Nicole tells me she loves something, I go with her on it as she’s never steered me wrong. So when this lovely bit of Chanel arrived on my doorstep a few months back, yet another gesture of generosity from the wonderful Nicole, I was pretty excited as she’d been raving about how wonderful Narcisse (and the Chanel JC blushes in general) were. Then I opened the box, popped open the compact and—*gasp*–I actually dared to second guess her! Sitting in the compact was this very pretty soft baby pink blush that I was totally and utterly convinced was going to completely disappear on my face.

BUT this blush is seriously amazing, and befitting the name, will definitely bring out your inner narcissist ~ when I’m wearing this I can’t stop admiring my reflection in the mirror! Narcisse is a gorgeous shade of soft pink that has a silky smooth, finely milled texture that blends beautifully and is really nicely pigmented for a paler blush. What makes this blush truly incredible though is the stunning candlelit glow things brings to your complexion–it’s really something special! Couple that with the blush’s pretty rose scent and I’m a goner.

While I am pale, I also suffer from some unsightly redness in my cheeks, and this blush is actually great for masking the redness a little and just giving me this perfect, gorgeous barely-there glowy flush.

Close-up of Narcisse in the pan.

Not So Much: It’s really hard to find anything wrong with this product, and honestly I can’t except for the horrendous, scratchy, oddly-sized little brush that the compact comes with. The brush seriously feels like I’m scratching at my face with straw, and its sized for blush-application on a doll face. I just don’t get it! My other gripe with this product would be the price~you get a seriously small amount for the seriously large price tag that you’re paying, but I can quite honestly say that I’d willingly pay it because the product itself is so wonderful.

Swatch of Narcisse (pre-blending)

Swatch of Narcisse After Blending

The Verdict: Lately this blush is the only one that beckons to me from the makeup-eating black hole that is my blush drawer. It’s shown me what a great blush can do for your complexion, and I really don’t see the need to reach for anything else. Although I do currently have a new blush lemming thank to Nicole: Shu Uemura’s Glow On blush in Pink 30.
Leave a Reply

