ABS’ Five: Foundations

April 17, 2009
Fresh Umbrian Clay Freshface Foundation SPF 20 ($42)
Fresh Umbrian Clay Freshface Foundation SPF 20 provides natural-looking coverage for a flawless finish. Fresh’s exclusive Umbrian Clay removes impurities from the skin to refine, nourish, and balance the complexion while Porphyridium Cruentum, a micro-algae extract, retains optimal moisture levels throughout the day. Your skin will be left fresh and radiant, with visibly reduced fine lines, noticeably improved skintone, and with SPF 20 UV protection.

I’ve always wanted to try Fresh’s Umbrian Clay Mask so when i saw that they’d come out with an Umbrian Clay foundation, I was intrigued. I’ve been testing this out for the past two days (by popping by Sephora in the mornings and using it LOL) and I’m actually really liking it so far. The packaging is quite pretty, the foundation has a light almost whipped consistency to it that feels great on (I can’t even tell that I’m wearing foundation), it seems to control my oiliness pretty decently, provides moderate coverage, and it lasts well too. Plus when I washed my face last night it was ridiculously soft.

I found that the Cloudy Bay shade worked best for me. I’m tempted to pick this up, especially with the 15% off Sephora has going on right now, but I’m hesitating since there are a few other foundations I’m currently wanting!


Mally Beauty Ultimate Performance Professional Foundation & Brush ($36.48)
Ultimate Performance is the professional style foundation that smoothes on for flawless, natural coverage that lasts. The formula is made to work with the special brush to melt into skin, conceal fine lines, and look fresh until you take it off. Ultimate Performance has a professional style cream formula that delivers unbelievably natural, yet complete coverage. Paired with a handtufted natural hair brush, the look is smooth, beautifully natural, and flawless.

How is it that QVC can convince me that I just can’t live without pretty much every product that they feature? It’s pure evil I tell you! Mally Beauty’s latest foundation release has received heavily mixed reviews, but I’m liking the look of the brush and I’m always dying to find that perfect compact foundation.


shu uemura Face Architect Remodeling Cream Foundation SPF 10 ($45)
Formulated with unique ingredients, this creamy foundation is designed to remodel and revitalize the complexion of the skin. A protective formula shields skin against UVA/B rays. Jasmine extract adds anti-oxidant benefits to help maintain a youthful glow. High concentration of Depsea water allows for smooth application and leaves skin feeling hydrated and fresh. The semi-matte texture with a natural sheen creates a sophisticated look for medium to full coverage.

This is what’s making me hesitate on my Fresh Umbrian Clay Foundation purchase. A certain somebody has been telling me that this might even trump my much loved Kanebo Sensai Fluid Finish Foundation, and the coverage is supposed to be sensational. I may check this out during Bergdorf’s $25 off event.


Givenchy Photo’Perfexion Fluid Foundation SPF 20 PA+++ ($42)
Givenchy Photo’Perfexion Fluid Foundation SPF 20 PA+++ works like a concealer to correct imperfections, smooth the skin’s texture, and even out the complexion. With the expertise and speed of a digital retoucher, Photo’Perfexion conceals dark shadows and sallow complexions. It goes on smooth and velvety every time and delivers a flawless finish—minus the heavy, cakey feeling.

Loving the description of this foundation. I need to remember to check it out in person to see if it lives up to its promises!

Dior ‘Diorskin Radiant Base’ SPF 20 ($40)

The luminous glow of golden ice crystals inspires Dior’s dazzling new makeup base. Just a few drops retextures and smoothes the skin dramatically for a radiant, even finish plus SPF protection. The refreshing, air-light feeling makes it the perfect primer under any Dior makeup—or wear it alone for a sheer golden veil of color.

Contrary to its appearance (and this post’s name), this isn’t a foundation but rather a makeup base which promises the “luminous glow of golden ice crystals”–sounds good to me! My only concern is that “golden” often equates with bronzey/orangey on my skin, so we’ll have to see how well this blends and whether it creates a real glow, or just more of a tan look.

Leave a Reply

