YSL Perfect Touch Radiant Brush Foundation Review & Swatches

April 1, 2009
Yves Saint Laurent Perfect Touch Radiant Brush Foundation ($55)

YSL’s Perfect Touch Radiant Brush Foundation was one of those products that came pretty close to being that perfect foundation for me, but of course inevitably ended up falling short. Not that I’m complaining because I’ve since moved on to Kanebo Sensai’s Fluid Finish Foundation which is pretty much HG material for me.


The Packaging: I was initially drawn to YSL’s Perfect Touch because of the (at-the-time) unique packaging with the built in brush–which I later realized I couldn’t stand. It made for a somewhat streaky finish, was rather unsanitary and seemed to waste a lot of product. But that problem was easily remedied–I just plucked it right off–see the photo below to see how to remove the brush head.


The Formula: So at first I really loved the formula. It left my skin feeling nicely hydrated, evened out all my imperfections, didn’t turn my t-zone into an oil-slick midday and had a gorgeous scent to it. Unfortunately I realized that the shade #5 Peach really just wasn’t working for me, yet all the various SA’s I visited with insisted that this was my color, and none of the others seemed to work that well for me either. #5 just had waaaay too much yellow to it, plus around midday my face would turn this strange, I’ve-used-too-much-self-tanner burnt-orangey shade that wasn’t too pretty. And I know other people have had issues with this oxidizing on them as well.

Blob of YSL Perfect Touch in #5 Peach

Blending

All Blended

The Verdict: I wouldn’t repurchase because (1) I’ve discovered the Kanebo which is not only fabulous, but cheaper than the YSL, and (2) I’m not too crazy about foundations that change colors on my skin after a few hours. Which is a shame because freshly applied, this foundation looks rather beautiful on.
6 Responses to “YSL Perfect Touch Radiant Brush Foundation Review & Swatches”

  1. Munichjoolz Says:

    I agree with every point you made in this review! It was love at first sight and I bought it immediately… and it was gorgeously dewy…but after a couple of wears I noticed that the shade was too dark. When I went back to the counter (thinking I'd just get a lighter shade) The SA insisted that I WAS WRONG that the shade was way too dark, I WAS a 'sand' and nothing I could say would make her get another shade out of the drawer! So much for customer choice! I eventually bought a light shade on the web so I can mix and at least use it up but as time has gone on I've had to pull the disgusting brushes off both as they don't wash clean and use my fingers to apply as this stuff is so oily it ruins any brush it comes into contact with. YUCK says it all.

  2. *Jen* Says:

    Hey Munichjoolz!I don't know what it is with the YSL SA's insisting that the too-dark shades are just right – my friend had exactly the same experience! Mine was obstinate too – refused to give me a lighter shade. This one had so much promise but it went so wrong!

  3. Munichjoolz Says:

    A month on and brushes pulled off I'm loving my mixture of #1 Ivory and #4 Sand – but it's such a faff to do (and can you imagine going up to a YLS SA and asking for a 1 and a 4?) that I'm saving my pennies to try Kanebo. gulp!

  4. *Jen* Says:

    Hey Munichjoolz!LOL I can only imagine the face the SA's make considering how stubborn they are about letting us choose our own shades! They sure rule those YSL counters with an iron fist =P. Definitely save up to try the Kanebo, I LOVE it! I still haven't a foundation that's anywhere near as good.

  5. coffretgorge Says:

    hi jen! i've had the YSL perfect touch foundation for a long while but have just discovered the detachable brush now! it will definitely make cleaning the brush easier! thank you so much for this post. you're an angel! 🙂


  6. Glad to be of help Coffretgorge! I found this foundation so much easier to use with the brush off – it was just so messy trying to use the brush with it!


Leave a Reply

