Mascara Series Part 23: Rimmel Sexy Curves Full Volume & Curve Mascara Review & Photos

March 7, 2009
Rimmel Sexy Curves Full Volume & Curl Mascara

The Claim: Rimmel’s Sexy Curves Mascara promised me 70% curlier lashes, voluptuous volume, and up to 16 hour curl hold. The packaging states that Rimmel’s patent-pending Lash Inflation technology contains a protein-enriched formula to instantly amplify your natural volume for fabulously fuller, clump free lashes.

The Brush: Sexy Curves implements a unique triple plump brush that supposedly curls in for volume and out for maximum curl. The cute, curvy packaging and the wand basically suckered me into purchasing this mascara. There was an Asian mascara that I’d been dying to own that somewhat looked like this, so when I saw it I was basically a goner. Unfortunately I’m not all too crazy about the wand. The fact that it dips inwards means that your lashes don’t get evenly coated and it makes for some awkward application (you miss groups of lashes here and there), plus I see no curling in for volume and out for curl effect. I think the applicator would work a million times better if they’d gone with shorter, nubbier bristles spaced more closely together.


The Formula: Again not so crazy about this either. It’s not terrible in that it doesn’t really flake or cause irritation, but it does smudge doesn’t really do much else. It gives me some wispy length, almost no volume, and while it can hold a tiny bit of a curl, it’s so “natural” looking that honestly it’s not even worth taking the time to use this most days. I look for high drama in my mascaras, even on an otherwise minimal makeup day, so this doesn’t even come close to cutting it. If I reall pile it on I can get some decent length and maybe a tiny bit of volume, but I really don’t have the time to be doing that when there are a million beter mascaras out there.


The Verdict: Ana you were totally right about this one? I basically look like I just tinted my lashes darker, which is really not what I’m looking for in a mascara. While I still love the way that the actual mascara looks, it just doesn’t look that good on.

RATING: 2.5/5
Leave a Reply

