Mascara Series Part 22: MAC Plush Lash Review & Photos

March 2, 2009
MAC Plush Lash ($12)


The Claim: A mascara formulated to instantly plump up lashes for extreme voluptuous effect. Works fast. Builds volume smoothly and evenly from root to tip. Delivers a silky, flexible, full fan of lashes. Fluid formula lightly coats lashes one layer at a time without smearing, smudging or clumping. Volumizing, lengthening, curling, lifting. This mascara features everything you want, with all the top mascara no’s: no clumping, spiking, smudging or flaking.

The Brush: MAC states that Plush Lash goes on via an innovative, specially patented wand with a v-shaped groove that prunes the bristles on one side while leaving the other side full and lush. The short bristles coax the lashes upward to an extraordinarily sophisticated yet flirtatious curl, while the other side separates and combs the lashes root-to-tip creating a long, well-defined glamour lash. If you check out the photo below, you can almost see that half the brush is completely flat, which might be great for those with long lashes, but for people with small eyes like me, it’s a huge mess to work with. I do like the brush in that it applies the mascara smoothly and it has a nice sleek feel to it, but I always always end up with tons of mascara all over my eyelids because this is just so difficult to maneuver if your eyes aren’t on the larger end of the spectrum.


The Formula: I’m really conflicted about Plush Lash. There are certain days that it gives me a beautiful, doe-eyed, long-lashed look, and then there are other days that it does absolutely nothing for me. The tube is flexible (it’s made of a plasticy/rubbery material) so that you can squeeze it to get at every last bit of mascara, but I don’t actually ever see myself finishing this mascara because most days it just doesn’t look that great on me. On top of that, it smudges and flakes on me, so while I do love the silky, feather-light flexible lashes it gives me, I just never reach for it.


It’s a shame I don’t like this mascara more because I love the way my lashes look in this photo.


The Verdict: I know that there are a ton of lovely ladies who swear by this mascara as their HG, and since it’s $12 I’d say it’s worth a try since it may work for you, but I’m just not a big fan of it. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this one if you’ve tried it! I (sometimes) get some nice length and volume out of this one, but it doesn’t hold a curl at all and the smudging and flaking are deal-breakers for me.

RATING: 3/5

Leave a Reply

