Mascara Series Part 21: Bare Escentuals Buxom Lash Mascara Review & Photos

February 25, 2009
Bare Escentuals Buxom Lash Mascara ($18)

The Claim: Bare Escentuals’ Buxom Lash promises to volumize lashes up to 300%. Buxom® Lash Mascara – Blackest Black holds the style of your lashes for a continuous 12 hours with no flakiness. The silky, vitamin-rich formula darkens, lengthens, and thickens from root to tip without ever clumping. Its patented, hourglass-shaped brush is designed to lift and separate every lash while delivering the perfect amount of antioxidant-rich mascara needed for bigger, fuller lashes. It’s formulated without parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances, synthetic dyes, and phthalates.

The Brush: While the brush isn’t ideal for my eye size and shape (tiny and squinty =X), I happen to really like it, in large part because it’s just so pretty! The bristles lift and separate rather decently and create nice volume (I wouldn’t say 300%, but still not bad at all) but the largeness of the hourglass brush can make it a bit cumbersome to work with, making for messy smudges along the upper lash line.


The Formula:
I love that Buxom Lash is parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances, synthetic dyes, and phthalates-free. I really don’t think nearly enough about what I’m putting on my face and very close to my eyeballs, and I really should considering that I spend a good chunk of my days covered in this stuff! But all that stuff aside, Buxom Lash really has quite the beautiful formula. First of all the black is a lush, rich shade of black, not that weak, wishy-washy black that so many black mascaras are nowadays. It’s also relatively clump and smudge free (I do experience some minor smudging when I go heavy on the eye cream), never flakes, and is non-irritating.

But does it actually work well? Well Buxom Lash’s formula definitely gives me really nice volume and it actually holds a tiny bit of a curl on my lashes, but it’s only mediocre in the length department. I do love the winged-out look that it gives me lashes though–very pretty! It applies smoothly and evenly, coating each lash nicely, and you’ll never ever get spindly tarantula leg lashes with this one!






The Verdict: I saw a girl applying Buxom Lash on the A train yesterday, and from what I could see this gave her nice curl, definition, and volume, but like me, nothing amazing in terms of length. That’s not to say you can’t build some really nice length with this, but I just don’t have the patience to do that these days! Overall though I’d recommend this mascara–it’s relatively inexpensive for a high-end mascara is a good, solid all-around mascara that doesn’t promise more than it can deliver.

RATING: 3.5/5


RELATED POSTS:

Read Parts 1-19 of the Mascara Series here! I’ve also added a “Mascara Series” tab up top so you have easy access to it at all times!

Leave a Reply

