Handy Dandy Bobbi Brown Face Palette Review

February 24, 2009
Bobbi Brown Cosmetics Face Palette ($15)

Perfect for taking your makeup favorites on-the-go. This sleek, portable black case allows you to customize your own color kit of Lip Color, Lip Shimmer, Cream Blush Stick, or Foundation Stick. Holds up to six shades. A blank base label allows you to record your makeup shades. (Cosmetics sold separately.)

Palette closed-check out how slim it is!

I first discovered this palette on the Neiman Marcus site a few years back, decided I just had to have it for those makeup emergency days (when you’re out, have something you need to go to and realize you have no makeup on you), and then forgot all about it–nothing new for me!

Fill-in-the-blank labels on the bottom.

But while shopping around the other day I rediscovered this petite little box of potential goodness and of course picked one up for myself that very same day. While it may seem silly to pay $15 for what’s essentially an empty compact, the idea of being able to fill up a slim compact with all of the day’s necessities really appeals to me, so for me it was worth it. Imagine having the day’s foundation, blush, lipstick, and cream eyeshadow, all in one little package that can be discretely slipped into an purse, clutch, or pocket–you could probably even fit this into a decent-sized wallet!

Top Row: Etude House Pore Erasing Peach Base, Max Studio Pan Stick, Smashbox Tokidoki stick
Bottom Row: YSL Rouge Voluptes (scooped out of these samples)

I used the included spatula to scoop in the Etude House primer, then used a piece of dental floss to slice off pieces of the rest of the products to place in the compact. I then pressed down on the products with a napkin to achieve a nice, relatively smooth finish and voila, face in a compact! Now if I can just remember to carry this around with me, I know that I’ll get tons of use out of it.

Leave a Reply

