Drugstore Discoveries: L’Oreal Paris True Match Super-Blendable Compact Makeup Review & Swatch

February 20, 2009
L’oreal True Match Super-Blendable Compact Makeup ($12.99)

I promised a reader I’d review this for her forever ago and unfortunately forgot all about it–sorry about that! But that tends to happen to me when I try a product, don’t really like it and shove it into a back drawer. So why doesn’t this product work for me? Let me enumerate the ways!

#1 The compact color is waaaaay off. So you’d think that if the color in the pan looks to be about your shade, it would actually be at least somewhat close to your skintone, right? WRONG! The shade is actually a good 2-3 shades lighter once applied, which I really don’t understand. I picked a shade that looked darker than my natural skintone, but it still ended up being much too light. Booo!

#2 This makes me dry and oily at the same time. Yes this product has a wonderfully creamy consistency that applies rather nicely, but it also emphasizes every pore, fine line, and dry flake, which doesn’t make for the prettiest finish. My face feels a little dry upon the initial application, but give it a little time and you’ll be an oilslick!

#3 It just doesn’t feel that great on. I can’t quite put my finger on what it is, but I just don’t like the way that this feels on my skin~and the fact that I can feel it sitting there on my face post-application. The feel of a foundation is key for me because I really dislike being able to feel my makeup on my face.

Bare skin.

With foundation.

Verdict: I’m tempted to try this in a darker shade just to see how it blends with my skintone since I do think the packaging is rather cute, but I don’t want to risk ending up with the wrong shade yet again (my one major gripe with drugstore cosmetics is that there are usually no testers, meaning you’re pretty much taking a shot in the dark in terms of shade choice) and I’m also not all that crazy about the formulation so I’m thinking I’ll just put that urge to rest. Definitely won’t be repurchasing!

Leave a Reply

