Castledew Diacut Eyes (9 Colors) Palette in #902 Planet Shine Star Review & Swatches

February 20, 2009
Castledew Diacut Eyes (9 Colors) Palette in #902 Planet Shine Star

As I’m sure some of you remember, this beauty of a palette was a gift from the always-sweet Digital Angel, who managed to catch me by surprise with this package–a pretty rare occurrence I assure you!


The outer encasement of the palette is like a large glittering jewel and just so much fun. I love having this sitting on my vanity so that I can admire it each morning as I’m doing my makeup, whether I’m using it or not.

Top Row: Crystal Yellow, Miracle Violet, Crystal Pink
Middle Row: Crystal Peach, Miracle Pink, Miracle Khaki (which according to Castledew is spelled Kaki–who knew I was misspelling it all these years?)
Bottom Row: Planet Grey, Planet Deep Brown, Planet Black

Having found Castledew’s Pearl Up Eyeshadows (also gifts from Digital Angel!) to be very pigmented, I was expecting more of the same from this Diacut Eyes Palette, so I was a little disappointed on that front. That’s not to say that this palette is a dud by any means–it’s just that the shadows tend to be on the sheer side.

Swatches in the same order as above.

The palette sports a gorgeous array of shades including pink, purple, brown, gray, black, green, and cream and is glitter central, just the way I like it! The palette’s downfall is that due to the relative sheerness of the shadows, the glitteriness tends to overpower whatever look you’re attempting to great and so you see more shimmer than any actual color.



However if you do have the patience to layer the color on you can get a pretty nice wash of color! I created the look below using 2-3 layers of the purple shade. While the pigmentation could be a little better, I really love the packaging of this product and was so excited to have the opportunity to play around with this palette. Thank you so much Digital Angel for being so thougthful and sending this to me!

Leave a Reply

