Stila The Precious Pearl Eye Shadow Palette Review & Swatches Plus 2 EOTD’s

February 12, 2009
Stila The Precious Pearl Palette ($40)

What it is: Stila’s The Precious Pearl Palette features six new silky smooth eyeshadow shades that are infused with genuine crushed pearl. A natural wonder, pearl minimizes the appearance of fine lines and leaves skin with a youthful, radiant glow. It also contains minerals and proteins which nourish the skin leaving it smooth and soft. These six must-have eyeshadow shades, that can be worn alone or together, create an endless number of brilliant looks. They are tucked inside a vintage-inspired compact with real mother-of-pearl detail.


The Packaging: In a word, stunning! It’s also luxurious, chic, rather petite, and all in all just oh so unique and precious. Stila’s Precious Pearl Palette is easily one of the most beautiful compacts that I own.

Click to Enlarge
Shades:

White Gold (soft creamy white with gold shimmer). Soft Pink (light pink with pink and white shimmer), Mid-tone Pink (neutral warm pink with pink shimmer), Deep Blue (dark blackish navy with blue shimmer), Green (intense mermaid green with blue and green shimmer), Gold (deep gold with yellow and gold shimmer)

The Shadows: Stila’s pearl-infused shadows are silky smooth, highly pigmented, and blend like a dream thanks to their rich, dense, almost creamy consistency. I loved playing with the tester at Sephora because the shadows just felt so beautifully decadent on my fingertips.

So you’d think this would be a rave review, no? Well it is to some extent but I do have a few reservations about this palette.


For one thing, while there isn’t much fallout from these shadows thanks to their silky/creamy nature, the little fallout that I do experience irritates my eyes just the tiniest bit–perhaps it’s the crushed pearl? I’ve read about a few others having the same issue so I know it’s not just my imagination! In addition, while this palette seems to look gorgeous on just about everybody to tests it out, on me I feel as though the colors tend to look a little muddy. I so want to love this though because there are so many aspects of it that I’m crazy about.

Here are two simple looks I created using my Precious Pearl Palette:


What are you thoughts on this one?
Leave a Reply

