ecoTOOLS 5 Piece Mineral Makeup Travel Brush Set Review

February 3, 2009

Many of you had expressed an interest in ecoTOOLS’ 5 piece mineral makeup travel brush set that I blogged about HERE (only $9.99!) and so here it is! I’ve never actually tried a drugstore brush so I was highly skeptical, but I absolutely love these, and you can’t beat the price!


This earth-friendly brush set is packed with the 4 high-quality brushes made with bamboo handles (which have a low impact on the earths resources as it is a highly sustainable plant), synthetic taklon bristles which are 100% cruelty free, and sleek ferrules made from recycled aluminum. The sets consists of: a Mineral Powder Brush, Concealer Brush, Eye Shading Brush, and Baby Kabuki.

Baby Kabuki and Mineral Powder Brush

I’ve been in desperate need of a good powder brush for the longest time, since my long-time favorite DVF brush decided to fall to pieces a few months back. The baby kabuki is super soft and dense and picks up and distributes powder very well, plus I love its petite size.

The mineral powder brush is the perfect size and density for applying blush. I’ve tried much more expenisve brushes, but this one is really great–I’ve been using it with the new Chanel JC blush that Nicole got me and the brush allows me to get precise color placement while distributing the color evently.

Concealer Brush and Eye Shading Brush

So I’m not as crazy about these two brushes, but they’re still nice to have as part of the set when I’m traveling. The concealer brush I don’t love simply because I don’t have much use for it since I don’t wear much concealer, but it does serve its purpose so I can’t complain. There’s nothing at all wrong with it and it’s very soft.

The eye shading brush is decent but I much prefer the face brushes to this one. Like the others it’s ultra-soft, but the bristles just don’t pick up and distribute color the way that my other blending brushes (which look just like this) do–I seem to get less pigmentation using this one, plus my application is just a little messier.

All my brushes, happily tucked in.

All in all I’d say that this brush set is more than worth the $9.99 it costs! Definitely look for it at your local drugstore.
Leave a Reply

