REN Multi Mineral Detoxifying Facial Mask Review

January 26, 2009
REN Multi Mineral Detoxifying Facial Mask ($34)

The Claim: REN’s Multi Mineral Detoxifying Facial Mask is a deep cleansing and purifying mask that draws out impurities and decongests the skin leaving it soft and smooth. Pore size is reduced and skin imperfections are less visible. It’s paraben, sulfate, synthetic fragrance, synthetic dye, petro-chemical, and phthalate free.


Does it deliver? Well here’s the lowdown–you’re essentially paying $34 for a glorified clay mask. Is it fabulous? Well I happen to think so. Are you going to die without it? Probably not.

REN’s Multi Mineral Mask contains French kaolin clay to draw out impurities, spirulina to stimulate cell renewal, and red tea which is an essential fatty acid. I love that it has a nice light consistency meaning it’s easy to spread unlike many other clay masks I’ve tried which have the consistency of hardened mud, and also that it doesn’t cause stinging/burning/irritation. I’ve tried the much raved about Queen Helene Mint Julep Mask, and while it’s absolutely amazing for zapping a zit, it also makes me feel like I’m receiving a third degree burn to my face, so it’s a no-go for me most days.

Basically you spread a decent layer of the REN mask onto your face, let it dry for ten minutes or so, then rinse. You’re left with smooth, non-irritated skin that’s soft as a baby’s bottom–plus when you wake up the next morning you’ll notice your skin has a nice glow to it!

As for the pore-tightening effect, I’ve found that when used in conjunction with the Glycolactic Skin Renewl Peel my pores are clear (a miracle in and of itself) and nearly blackhead free and therefore my pores are a little tighter, although nothing drastic.

One final thing–I LOVE the packaging! The little plastic cap that goes over the nozzle ensures that you don’t get that little hardened blob of product at the opening, and everything stays fresh and happy until the next time you reach for this.

The Verdict: While I do happen to think it’s rather pricey at $34, I happen to love this and have reserved a permanent place for it in my skincare drawer! It keeps my skin clear (I’ve virtually stopped breaking out since I started using this and the Glycolactic plus a DDF toner), smooth, soft, and radiant–well worth my $34!

RATING: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

